Jobs, careers, and companies.

I was listening to NPR this morning and they had a segment about jobs and career progression. Apparently in the old days people generally bounce around at entry-level jobs for a while until they found something secure with a potential for advancement, and then stay there for forty years until they retire. From what NPR says this is no longer the case. Like a lot of reporting on NPR this is kind of true. For me this is certainly the case, but for others I know they stayed with one company for their entire career. What they should say is the percentage of people who change jobs throughout their lives is increasing compared to the “Good old days”.

Anyway, this got me to thinking about the jobs, companies, and careers that I have had over the last 35 years of my working life.

Pizza prep cook.
Marina (State park) gate attendant.
Tent and Awning installer.
Arcade attendant.
Chimney sweep.
USAF Civil engineering metal worker
USAF Controls technician
Heating and Air Conditioning installer
Heating and Air Conditioning Service technician
Automation controls technician
Technical maintenance program manager
Process technology instructor
Technical support engineer
Electrical safety instructor
Training professional, production quality.
Who knows what’s next…..

I find it fascinating to see how people progress or move around during their working lives. I have changed careers, jobs, and companies more frequently that I would like. Sometimes this happens by choice, others not so much. When I did get to choose, I just followed my passion and took advantage of opportunities as they present themselves. When opportunity knocks I listen. Other people have a specific career path that they follow. They go to college or learn a trade, find a company to work for, stay there until they retire or die.

I don’t expect to voluntarily retire. Maybe someday I will be a Wal-Mart greeter, or open my business, or something I haven’t thought of yet. What jobs or career paths have you had over your life?

Pf

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

