Nuisance fish?

Every once in a while I like to indulge in a little google narcissism.  This usually a humbling experience and today was no exception.

I did a Google search for “Prairie Flounder” and found the following:

Prairie Flounder.

That’s the name we chose as the winner of our “Rename the Asian Carp” contest, which is aimed at making the nuisance fish more marketable.

As we’ve said before, the state is spending $750,000 to help a company buy equipment to make Asian Carp patties. Along with helping the company offset some of its investment, the subsidy could help cut into the population of the fish, which is clogging the Illinois and Mississippi Rivers and crowding out native species.

The problem: While a popular meal abroad, carp doesn’t sell well in the United States.

Hence, the new name, thanks to reader Matt Kubiak of Bloomington.

Let’s try it out

Waitress: What can I get you, honey?

Hungry Man: Do you have anything that tastes like mud?

Waitress: Yessir, that’d be today’s special, Prairie Flounder fritters.
Happy eating.”

 

Here is the link.

 

I have mixed feelings about this. My first thought after reading the post is, hey, that’s my name you’re fooling around with.  Then, upon reflection I realize that it is a great name for a carp.  It also brought back carp memories from my childhood.

When I was a kid growing up in Northern California I spend many a weekend hanging around the Folsom Lake Marina.  When my parents were out sailing my brother and I would stay and play.  We would explore the trails, throw rocks in the water, and swim between the docks.  I know now that it was a dangerous place to swim, but at the time it was just a cool adventure.  Sometimes we would challenge ourselves to see how deep we could dive.  We would fill a coke can with water and let it sink until it was out of site.  Then dive in and try to chase it down.

We never thought about what shared the water with us when we swam, until the day my parents bought us goggles.  That was when we realized that the marina belonged to the carp, we were just visiting.  Some were huge, with sharp pointed fins and gaping mouths.  Others just looked like big gold fish.  We were told that there were sturgeon at the bottom of the lake that grew to six or seven feet long. This news only heightened our sense of adventure.

I have very fond memories of my childhood and my adventures at the marina and in the lake.  And to me Carp is just another kind of fish I don’t eat, but I am kind of proud that someone gave them my name.  Even if it is coincidence.

 

Pf

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

