The secret of our success 5585-5514

 

Twenty nine years ago today my lovely wife and I exchanged vows of marriage.  I won’t go into al the sappy details, but I will say that it was a perfect day.  Everyone I wanted to attend was there, the weather was perfect, and we all had a great time.  Over the years we have had many adventures and lots of luck.  Both of which could be good or bad, and many were.  It’s been a roller-coaster ride that I hope never ends.

Most of my friends have been through a divorce and some are on their second marriage.  It seems rare for a couple to stay together more than about ten years.  We seem to be the anomaly.  The odd couple.  Today we are surpassing twenty-nine years with no end in sight.  So what is our secret?  How did we manage not to toss in the towel during the tough times?

Patty and I discussed this last night on our way out to dinner at the Bent Fork.  We could not find any secret to our success.  We love each other and try our best to make each other happy.  Sometimes we are successful and other times not so much.  But we don’t have any formula for success.

Maybe the question is phrased wrong.

Sometimes I like to flip things around to help make sense of things.

The question shouldn’t be, what is the secret to our successful marriage, but why would it fail?

I can’t answer that one either.

Which is probably why we are going just fine after 29 years.

 

pf

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The secret of our success 5585-5514

  1. Dad says:

    Seems like I hear this kind of stuff all the time. What is your secret etc. Dale is right, there is not really any secret. Except for one thing. You have to want to stay married to make it last. Sometimes that is easy, sometimes it is a bit harder. But for the most part, I like to think of the marriage as a third party. There are things that I want our of a relationship. There are things that my wife wants out of that relationship. And there are things that must be done on behalf to the third party: The Marriage itself. So both parties sometimes have to give a little extra on behalf of their union. It has worked for us for a few years and we are looking forward to a few more.

  2. Dad says:

    And finally, I think you both must have character and resolution to make the thing work. And for that I congratulate you both. Just seeing the two of you together gives me hope for your generation.

  3. Thanks Dad. Just following your example. 29 years is a lot, but you have a 20+ year head start on us.
    -pf

Leave a Reply

