Capt America Review.

I took my lovely wife out to see Captain America 2 the Winter Soldier, this weekend.  This movie did a lot to integrate Marvel universe that I really enjoy.  The movie did a great job of both being entertaining and tying in characters and plots from the other Marvel enterprises.  It neatly tied in Agents of Shield, Iron Man, and Avengers, while leaving room for more.  The movie also made you pay attention to every detail looking for Easter eggs, and cameos and it didn’t disappoint.

Near the end of the movie we get momentary flash of Nick Fury’s head stone.

nick-fury-tombstone

It says:

Col. Nicholas J, Fury

The path of the righteous man….

Exekiel 25:17

I let out a relatively large snicker, right there in the theater.  Then shut up as I realized that not only did my wife not see it, but apparently I was the only one in the theater that did.  I told her about it in the parking lot after the movie was over.

The phrase “The path of the righteous man….” Is the beginning to a diatribe that Samuel L Jackson used when he portrayed Jules Winnfield in the 1998 movie Pulp Fiction.

The path of the righteous man is beset on all sides by the inequities of the selfish and the tyranny of evil men. Blessed is he who, in the name of charity and good will, shepherds the weak through the valley of darkness, for he is truly his brother’s keeper and the finder of lost children. And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who would attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon thee.

His explanation for using this verse was reviled in the famous speech he gave to Pumpkin in the restaurant.  “I just thought it was a cold-blooded thing to say to a motherfucker before I popped a cap in his ass.”

And just for full disclaimer for those who believe that the above lines are actually in the bible here is what I found with a little web search:

And I will execute great vengeance on them with furious rebukes; and they shall know that I am the LORD, when I shall lay my vengeance on them.

-American King James Version

So the headstone wasn’t about a biblical verse.  It was directly pointing to Jules in Pulp fiction. I just love it when movies do this kind of thing.

Which brings up the question that I have been thinking about since I left the movie last night….

What do you suppose Co. Fury’s wallet looks like?

Anyway I did enjoy the movie.  The only parts that I didn’t really get into were the seemingly pointless, and nearly endless, fist fights.  After the first few, one on one death matches, it became predictable and boring, in a violent shaky camera sort of way.  By the end of the movie I was really wishing that Capt America would whip out an old Browning 1911 .45 and just drop the bad guy.   A little advice Capt, don’t honor the bad guy by dropping your shield taking, off your mask, and giving us a five minute martial arts demonstration.  I think you may have better things to do with your time.

So next time your thinking about dropping everything to see if you can take that bad guy on without a shield just ask yourself, WWJD?

What would Jules do?

 

pf

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

