Shop TIme

I got to spend some valuable time in my shop yesterday.  Valuable because it is difficult for me to find a few hours where I can focus on working on some of my gadgetry when there are so many other distractions. Between work, fixing up our home for sale, registering again for school, general house work, even one hour in my shop is a luxury.  I set my iPod to random shuffle and let it hunt through hundreds of songs while I concentrated on the task of moving from breadboard prototype to finished gadget.  While I was thinking about time and how I really appreciated having a day off midweek to play, my iPod started to play a song by Chicago that at first seemed at first to be really appropriate.

“Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?” -Chicago

 

As I was walking down the street one day

A man came up to me and asked me what the time was that was on my watch, yeah

And I said

Does anybody really know what time it is?

I don’t

Does anybody really care?

care

If so I can’t imagine why

about time

We’ve all got time enough to cry

Oh no, no

For some reason the lyrics really got into my head.  I realized that I didn’t have a clock in my shop, and that I wasn’t paying any attention to the time.  I thought it would be really nice if I could just ignore the passage of time.  That’s not really enough.  To ignore something is to acknowledge its existence, what would be really cool is to be completely oblivious of the passage of time.  I think that is the point of the song.

 

And I was walking down the street one day

A pretty lady looked at me and said her diamond watch had

stopped cold dead

And I said

Does anybody really know what time it is

I don’t

Does anybody really care

care

If so I can’t imagine why

about time

We’ve all got time enough to cry

Oh no, no

 

After the second verse I started to become a little peeved at the singer.  According to the first verse the guy has a watch on his wrist.  He knows what time it is.  Then when a pretty girl with a busted diamond watch asks him what time it is he just gives her a snarky answer.  What a dick.  She just wanted to know what time it is, and he gives her an ambiguous philosophical thought exercise.

 

And I was walking down the street one day

Being pushed and shoved by people trying to beat the clock,

oh, so I just don’t know,

I just don’t know

And I said, yes I said

Background Vocal:

People runnin’ everywhere

Don’t know the way to go

Don’t know where I am

Can’t see past the next step

Don’t have to think past the last mile

Have no time to look around

Just run around, run around and think why

Does anybody really know what time it is

I don’t

Does anybody really care

care

If so I can’t imagine why

about time

We’ve all got time enough to die

Oh no, no

 

Nice way to wrap it all up.  Some guy runs across two people who want to know what time it is, he knows and doesn’t tell them.  Then reminds the world that life is short and we are all going to die anyway so slow down and enjoy life.

I guess I shouldn’t waste so much time listening to lyrics and just enjoy the tune.

And get back to dicking around with my electronics before I run out of time.

 

pf

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

