From my Spam Folder

 

From time to time I like to check my spam folder in my dashboard.  WordPress really does a fantastic job of moving unwanted e-mails and links from my comment section.  Here is an excellent example of an e-mail that just screams out, WARNING I am dangerous SPAM!  Delete me immediately.  I seem to get a few of these a month, but this one stands out among one of the best (worst) of the bunch.  So I thought I would share.

From: tuyetkittredge@yahoo.com

“Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve be mindful your stuff
prior to and you’re just extremely fantastic. I really
like what you have bought here, certainly like what you are stating and the way in
which during which you say it. You’re making it entertaining
and you continue to take care of to keep it wise. I cant wait to read much
more from you. That is really a wonderful site.”

I don’t usually critique poor writing skills, I only need to read my blog to find fault.  And English is difficult for people to whom English is a second language.  However it wasn’t grammar that raised flags, it was the URL that accompanied the comment.

http://www.123Abcdef123456.com

The URL was why the spam filter was probably triggered and the comment sequestered.

I don’t know why this kind of thing fascinates me so much. I have to assume that people send these comments because it is profitable in one way or another.   There is nothing in his comment that leads me to believe that he read even my blog, nobody’s English is that bad and that vague.   Even if there was no spam filter I would not have any problem identifying the comment as incredibly stupid and deleting it immediately.  Also, what kind of URL is made up of consecutive numbers and letters?

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

