7th Anniversary

I was just notified by Word Press that I have reached my 7th anniversary.

7 Years of owning the domain prairieflounder.wordpress.com.

Here are some of the stats:

674         Posts

8              Pages

38           Categories

562         Tags

1,373     Comments

82,751   Hits

I did the math.  That’s about one post every 4 days.  I guess I am counting on volume over quality.  Also I get almost 1 comment every 2 days, or an average of 2 comments for every post.  If you average out the hits compared to posts, I average about 32 hits a day.  32 hits a day is absurdly tiny by just about any standard.  This is also an average.  Sometimes averages work in your favor; it ignores the fact that over the last few years I have seen a downward trend.  Peak popularity was back in 2008 with almost 23,000 hits.  Now I am lucky to break 10,000.

But that is ok.

I still feel kind of good about these numbers.  They suck compared to just about any other blog, but I am writing to a small group, and I am not really interested in building my stats.  The majority of hits I get from relatives, some friends that I have bothered to tell about this blog, and a few odd balls that stumble upon my site.  And I am cool with that.

My original intent was to have a forum to practice writing.  I had no idea that people would actually read the damn thing.  But for those who do, I want to thank you.  I do appreciate the effort.

For those who actually comment, thank you big time.  I love comments, even the ones that go straight to my spam folder.  Which, by the way, is a huge folder compared to non-spam.   90% + is spam.

I just wanted to say thanks to those who actually visit my site.  I plan on continuing this blog for as long as it is still fun.  Once it becomes work, well I guess I will just let it hang there.  It would be just another ghost blog that litters the internet, which is in itself kind of appealing.  But I will keep plugging away and see what happens.

pf

Tagged

2 thoughts on “7th Anniversary

  1. I wish I had time to comment more often but I still read every single post. Keep up the good work!

  2. Thanks. That means a lot coming from you.

Leave a Reply

