Play list for mowing the yard.

 

I found that I really need to create more playlists on my iPod.  Currently I only have one play list that I created it specifically for when I work in my shop.     It is made up of inspirational songs that I associate with industrious geek like hobbies. This includes Moving Pictures from Rush, the soundtracks from Iron Man and The Matrix, Smash Mouth, and some early Elvis Costello and Talking heads. This served me well during the winter months, however, summer is here and lawn work requires a new playlist.  I found this out last weekend while mowing the yard for the first time of the season.  My shop mix seemed completely inappropriate, so I just put the thing on shuffle and started weed whacking.  I had to stop a number of times to click through some songs that seemed inappropriate.  For example, Super Tramp: Take the Long Way Home:

Does it feel that you life’s become a catastrophe?

Oh, it has to be for you to grow, boy.

When you look through the years and see what you could

have been oh, what might have been,

if you’d had more time.

This song made me think about how tedious and lonely mowing the lawn really is.  How many miles have I trudged over the lawn during the last three or four decades?

Next song on the list:  Talking heads.

And you may ask yourself

How do I work this?

And you may ask yourself

Where is that large automobile?

And you may tell yourself

This is not my beautiful house!

And you may tell yourself

This is not my beautiful wife!

Letting the days go by/let the water hold me down

Letting the days go by/water flowing underground

Into the blue again/after the money’s gone

Once in a lifetime/water flowing underground.

Same as it ever was…Same as it ever was…Same as it ever was…

Same as it ever was…Same as it ever was…Same as it ever was…

Same as it ever was…Same as it ever was…

My average lawn hasn’t changed much in size over the years, say about 2000 sq ft.  Given that my lawn mower can cover a width of 12” that’s about a 2000’ walk each mowing.  I figure that I mow about once a week during the summer, and multiplying the 2000’ figure by five months of summer that gives me 20 weeks x 2000’ or 40,000’ of mowing annually.  This comes out to about 7.5 miles each summer.  I figure that I have been mowing actively since I was 15 so that gives me about 35 years of lawn care experience, or 265 linear miles of mowing.  That is equal to a lawn of 16.5 square miles, or roughly the size of the city of Cambridge in the UK.  I also figure that my mower gets about 5 miles per gallon of gasoline.  Don’t ask how I got that number; it’s just a stab in the dark.  So I probably burned about 51 gallons of gasoline.

That is a lot of money, pollution, and tedious effort just to prevent grass from growing long.   It makes me wonder if maybe the above lyrics apply more to how the grass must feel.

So anyway, what would make for a good lawn mowing playlist?  I figure that I have about a half an hour to fill.  Maybe 7 songs for each weekend or 140 songs to last the summer!  It would be nice to have playlist that not only makes me feel good about mowing the grass, but wouldn’t repeat every time I mowed.

Any suggestions?

 

pf

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

