Sucker for old sci-fi.

 

                Yes, I am a sucker for old science fiction.  By old I am speaking of science fiction movies and TV from the 50s, 60s, and 70s.  I was a child of the 60s and a teenager in the 70s so this is to be expected.  Sure the special effects sucked, but the stories were excellent.  I have been collecting some of my favorite old science fiction on DVD.  Some of the best places to pick up these movies are at video stores that are going under.  At first I was worried that all my favorite titles would be bought up early, but most people wanted new movies, and popular titles.  So my coveted copy of Soylent Green and The Day the Earth Stood Still were not really at risk.

                Time machine, Last man on Earth, Fahrenheit 451, 2001 a Space Odyssey, Planet of the Apes, Fantastic Voyage, The Andromeda Strain, a Clockwork Orange, The Omega Man, THX 1138, Silent Running, Slaughterhouse Five, Solaris, Soylent Green, Westworld, Phase IV, A boy and his dog, The man who fell to earth, Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Damnation Alley, Star Wars, Wizards, Capricorn One, Alien, Mad Max, and Time after Time are all on my list of movies to acquire.  So far I have about 75% of these movies. 

                The unfortunate thing is that all the Video stores are now closed around here.  It looks like they were replaced by automated machines and big box retailers.  However, I did manage to get Logan’s run at the supermarket the other day.  Score!

                I know that a lot of these movies can be had on Netflix or iTunes, but it just doesn’t feel the same.  For some reason I like DVDs, it feels more substantial. 

                What old Science Fiction movies would you collect that I missed in the above list?

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

