New years resolutions.

I’m not superstitious, but I am a romantic. These sometimes can get confusing to people who do not know me well. Some dates and places hold special meaning to me, the new year is not one of them. However one did, a long time ago.

For some the beginning of a new year holds promise, some expectation of starting over, kind of a do-over to make up for last years misdeeds. For me it feels like just another day. Well not just…

This Afternoon my lovely wife and I went out for lunch. We had a nice leisurely meal at Panera Bread Co. in Fort Collins. We bought a Sunday paper, and took up a booth to have room to spread out. I noticed an ad in the paper and thought it kind of odd. It was an add for a sale on swimming goggles, and such. I commented that I thought it was a bit early for summer sports, the lakes won’t thaw for three months at least. As usual my lovely wife tolerated with my world view and explained the connection to New Years resolutions. It honestly did not occur to me that people would go out and buy stuff in order to commit to a resolution they haven’t made yet.

I haven’t made a New Years resolution since 1984, when I committed to cherishing my lovely wife. (We were just engaged at the time). Being the romantic that I am, I think that once is enough. I renew it every day, why wait for the new year?

That is why I don’t do New Years resolutions. I believe that every day is the first day of the rest of my life. My first and last resolution is working out so far, why risk it? Does that make me superstitious?

PF

Tagged , ,

3 thoughts on “New years resolutions.

  1. planetross says:

    It doesn’t make you superstitious … just mildlystitious.

  2. It’s very straightforward to find out any topic on web as compared to books, as I found this paragraph at this website.

Leave a Reply

