Coffee machine

Another breakfast food that I must have every morning is coffee.  One thing I enjoy about being in Denmark is that the Danes have the same love of coffee as I do.  So they make it available all day long.  And at work it is not only free, but there is a lot to choose from.  In the hallway next to my class room is a machine that may be the most perfect coffee machine in existence.

Coffee machine

Its only drawback is that it makes a hell of a racket each time a coffee is dispensed.  I am talking about a jet air plane taking off kind of whine.  But it is quickly over and the cup is full.  The Danes seem to take the noise as a call to be social and share in the coffee experience.  And unlike my coffee maker at home the coffee doesn’t turn off after an hour, and doesn’t get stale.

My first experience with this coffee machine was a bit intimidating.  There wasn’t a single button that said “Coffee”.  This is to be expected, it is not a coffee maker designed for Americans. I have to say I was a bit daunted by the sheer number of buttons; I was concerned that I would press the wrong combination of buttons and spill coffee everywhere, or worse.  But it turns out that it is pretty hard to screw up pushing one button.

I did find out that the machine is not smart enough to tell that a cup is actually under the dispenser and that it doesn’t have a drain.  No, I didn’t make that mistake, however I was a witness. For some reason I had a profound sense of gratitude for the person who did make that mistake.  Being the kind of guy that just has to know how things work, I would have made that mistake on purpose eventually.  Just to see what would happen.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Coffee machine

  1. S. Le says:

    I’ll have one of those machines in my kitchen please!

Leave a Reply

