Robot talk

Say what?

Robot talk

 

Now that I have wireless communication link between my rover bot and my iMac I have found trouble shooting is much easier.  I just insert a few Serial.println(a); or some such into the program.  This tells me if the program is flowing in the manor that I expect. Often this simple line shows me programing errors that would normally frustrate the hell out of me.

But I also found that is kind of amusing to have the little Rover Bot give me useless information just for the hell of it.  For instance I put a blue button on top of the bot so I can pause the program at any time.  This helps when it gets stuck and I just need it to stop struggling and allow me to re-position the thing.  It used to just turn on a blue light, pause for five seconds, and then go off on its merry way.  Now I have it give me messages over the radio to my iMac.    I also put in a random element so it doesn’t always say the same thing.

I push the blue button….

It displays “Thanks, I needed the break”

Then counts down “5, 4, 3, 2, 1,…  Go!”

Or,

“Uh oh… time out”

“5, 4, 3, 2, 1”

Or,

“Crap, lay off the damn blue button.  I was doing fine”

“5, 1, 4, 2, 3, hahaha.”

I also have it give me messages when it bumps into objects.  This is kind of a rare event as the IR sensors do a good job of avoiding objects, but it does happen.

If you were my rover bot, what would you want to say?  When?

Pf

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

