May 5th

Back when I wore a younger man’s cloths, (Smaller and even more stupid looking) I had a fascination with numbers.  Not in a math sense, but in the way that some numbers seem to come up in my life more than others.  The number 5 for some reason seemed to pop up a lot.  Due to this fascination my lovely wife and I decided to get married on 5/5/85.  I liked the number and it makes it easier to remember our anniversary.

It didn’t occur to me that this was also Cinco de Mayo. Really.  This always bothered me a little, there is nothing wrong with Cinco de Mayo, but I often thought that a more unique and oddball holiday would be more appropriate.

I guess I should be careful what I wish for.  I just found out that world naked gardening day falls on May 5th this year.

Mark your Calendars for the Eighth Annual WNGD:

Saturday,
May 5, 2012

Check it out at http://wngd.org/

From their website:

Get ready for the Sixth Annual World Naked Gardening Day (WNGD)! People across the globe are encouraged, on Saturday, May 5, 2012 to tend their portion of the world’s garden clothed as nature intended.

Why garden naked? First of all, it’s fun! Second only to swimming, gardening is at the top of the list of family-friendly activities people are most ready to consider doing nude. Moreover, our culture needs to move toward a healthy sense of both body acceptance and our relation to the natural environment. Gardening naked is not only a simple joy, it reminds us–even if only for those few sun-kissed minutes–that we can be honest with who we are as humans and as part of this planet.

I have to say that I can’t believe that gardening is second on the top list of things to do naked next to swimming.  Gardening is actually pretty low on my list of things to do naked.  I guess it depends on how you define gardening.  For me gardening usually involves using sharp tools and machines.  Sure I can see mowing naked, but leave the weed-whacker and the chainsaw in the shed.  I would rank pruning rosebushes naked with cooking bacon, and giving the cat a bath.

However I do feel strongly that people in general are way too uptight about nudity.  We should be honest with who we are as humans.  Nudity is natural and shouldn’t be looked upon as some kind of sexual perversion.  If you got it flaunt it, if you don’t, then flaunt it anyway.  Oh and also be careful of biting insects, they really like the soft bits.

pf

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

