Team Building 2

Last week I went on a “team building” exercise with some Brazilian colleagues from work.  It was the same exercise I went to back in 09 when I was first hired, but with a small twist.  Before I was part of the team that needed to be built; now I am guiding another group to build their team.

 

My boss is a bit of a health nut and is in tremendous shape.  What he does for casual fun I consider a serious test of my stamina.  So when it comes to team building it turned out to be more like disguised survival, trial by fire, and defying gravity at the same time.  But I didn’t wimp out.  I climbed that wall and hiked that trail and survived.  I spend the weekend thinking seriously about how I really have to exercise and get into shape, later.  I have to wait until my muscles stop aching, maybe next month.

 

The Brazilians were great fun to be with.  They have such a great attitude, and seem to be up for anything.  I really like people with an attitude about life where anything is possible and nothing is too embarrassing, dangerous, or silly to try once. That is a trait that I have always admired in others, and have found that the older I get the more I am up for the moment.

he·ro   /ˈhɪəroʊ/ [heer-oh]

Noun, plural he·roes;

1. A man of distinguished courage or ability, admired for his brave deeds and noble qualities.

Now that I think of it, most of my heroes in life share this trait.  From my Father, to Mike Rowe most all of the people I admire are not afraid to step up and try nearly anything just for the feeling of discovery.

It’s funny how when I was younger I was concerned about how I was perceived by others.  I didn’t want to look silly in front of my peers by trying something that may make me look stupid.  The older I get the less I care what others think.  Not because I value their opinions less, but because everyone looks silly doing anything the first time.

 

If someone said to you, “Here, put on this harness that makes your jewels budge and your ass look big, and tie yourself to a rope, then climb this wall while all these freakishly strong skinny chicks watch your ass”, what would you say?  That’s not what they said; it is what my subconscious heard.

 

35" up and ready for more...

I said “Sure, strap me in.  Let’s go”.

This climbing gym has the tallest climbing wall in Colorado.  I just had to reach the top.  Ended up doing so two and a half times.  Yes, half way up on my third climb I found that the rope was indeed a good idea.

My Brazilian colleagues were half way up the wall by the time I got the harness on.  They laughed too loud, applauded each other, and had a great time.  They also didn’t seem to have a self-conscience bone in their bodies.

 

What a hoot.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

