Deleting Friends?

 

I count myself lucky to have a dozen or so real friends.  No I don’t count Facebook friends as real friends.  Not all anyway.  Some people claim to have hundreds of Facebook friends, bullshit.  This dilutes the whole concept of friend.  A friend is a person who will buy you lunch, drive you home, and tell you that you don’t suck even when you know you really do.  A friend will tell you the truth even if it hurts, and somehow it works out anyway.  A friend is a person who is on your side even when you’re not. Friends have conversations around the fire-pit.

How can a Facebook friend compete with that?

I started a Facebook account a few years ago and since my son deleted his account I haven’t found a single interesting or relevant post.  So I think I will be following my son’s lead and delete my account.  This has nothing to do with internet privacy, or some of the current practices of Facebook, which I find creepy and invasive.  It’s their right to do whatever they want with the information, hey people are dumb enough to post personal stuff they get what they deserve.  I am deleting my account because I find the entire experience unfulfilling and tedious.

Can anyone give me a compelling reason not to delete my Facebook account?

-pf

2 thoughts on “Deleting Friends?

  1. I wish I could. I flirt with deletion constantly but in the end it’s the easiest way for me to share pictures and connect with friends (real friends) who live out-of-town. And so many people I know are terrible about replying to emails (my preferred communication method) but will respond to a FB message in 30 seconds.

  2. I guess that is one of the things I have been struggling with. You have friends who are too distant physically to visit, however they have many means of communication. You have your blog, e-mail, snail mail, and presumably a cell phone, but these friends will only take the time for a ten second reply to a Facebook message? What kind of friends are these? I guess I am just getting old.
    -pf

Leave a Reply

