Black Friday Fit

 

Well we finally broke down and bought a 2012 Honda Fit for my lovely wife to drive to work.  I get to drive her Honda Element, and we will donate our old 1989 POS Honda to a worthy cause.  To me this is a win-win-win situation.

My little 1989 Honda POS has been a good car and served us well.  You know what they say; it’s not the age but the millage that counts.  Millage isn’t just how far it has gone, but under what conditions it has been exposed to.  This little Honda has survived a lot.  Four years ago it survived my son driving it to and from Golden Colorado.  Then it survived the Windsor Tornado of 2008, receiving major hail damage and a cracked sun roof.  It survived my commute of approximately 70 miles a day for a year or so, with only a few minor complaints.  In its last few weeks this Honda started to show some end of life signs.  Besides the odometer reaching the 200k mark, the brakes started to make that “Replace me” sound.  The clicking on the CV joint was starting to get louder, and the ball joints need replacing.  It started to drink radiator fluid and oil faster than normal.  One day the check engine light came on then went off a short time later.  Besides the car looks like it survived a real life game of Angry Birds, thanks to the hail from the tornado. 

It was time to perform a cost benefit analysis. 

Maximum selling price for Honda POS if it was in good safe operating condition:  $1100.00.  Price to get it into good safe running condition:  $1500.00, minimum.

Sorry little Honda, it was nice knowing you, but as soon as the right opportunity presents itself your history.   I have been milking this POS for months, making minor repairs and worrying about its imminent demise each and every day.  This of course begins to wear on a person.  Resent begins to form.  Hence the endearing name I gave my Honda. 

We could have bought another used car, but my lovely wife deserves a little peace of mind and I am willing to do whatever it takes to ensure she feels comfortable driving to work.  We have had a great experience with our Honda Element and figure that we would eventually buy another Honda at the same dealer.  But first I needed to check out other cars and dealers.  This is mostly due to my desire for peace of mind.  I really hate the thought that a better deal on a better car was just within reach and I may miss it through a misguided sense of loyalty.  After visiting a few car dealers in the area I discovered that my loyalty was not misguided at all. 

The Honda dealer in Fort Collins had the exact Fit for us.  Low price, best features, stick shift, etc…  Sure it had some things I would rather not have on a new car, like those damn air bag warning stickers and dingers, but apparently you can’t fight federal regulations at a car dealer.

I did manage to get them to alter the settings on the remote so all the doors would open when you pushed the unlock button, and the salesman did cut off the advertising decal from the window.  So in the end I am happy, my wife is happy, and some charity will get a great parts car to strip and make another Honda drivable. 

All in all it was a good Black Friday experience.  We slept in, didn’t have to deal with crowds, and got a nice new car for a reasonable price.  Not bad. 

 

Tagged , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Black Friday Fit

  1. Mitch says:

    Good on you! The wife always deserves a nice car.

  2. How difficult was the open-all-locks reset? I have a 2011 Honda CRV we bought in July and that would be a welcome feature.

    • To tell you the truth I have no idea how he did it. The salesman and my wife were in the car, I asked him if it were possible and he said, “just a sec” before I knew it he was done. I figure it was done with some kind of combination of magic button pushing and dealer mojo.
      -pf

      • Well the manual shows how to set the door locks to where they will not auto-lock when you start driving. I did that as soon as we got it home from the dealer. I’ll have to check on the unlock-all-doors option.

  3. planetross says:

    Crap! I was just going to buy heated seats for my van!

    note: when I buy a new van, I’ll buy a used van just like mine, except newer. I’ve gotten used to having no front end.
    Maybe the newer one will have airbags and a non-rusty bumper: I think one of those things may come in handy.

  4. S. Le says:

    Cool! We nearly bought a Fit but opted for the Civic SI Sport. Husband loves it. I’m going to be buying a new car soon but am looking at either a Nissan Cube or Kia Soul. I like weird cars. Congrats to your lovely wife though!

  5. planetross says:

    Having a Fit doesn’t sound so bad now.

Leave a Reply

