Veterans Day On

Happy 11-11-11

In Binary 63, or 3-3-3… Whatever… 

It’s also Veterans Day.   Today is the day where Federal, State, and City workers get the day off. Meanwhile most of us Veterans actually have to show up to work.  Ever since I left the military my lovely wife has had the pleasure of not working on Veterans Day, and I have had to go to work. 

I sometimes wonder about holidays like this.  Would it be better if only Veterans got the day off? 

I don’t think so.  

I think it is great that today people get to reflect.  It’s good for people think about those of us who volunteer to undergo the trials of the “Military”, to boldly go…   Sometimes to war, other times just to stand around and wait.

Most people who have not served have no understanding at all as to why we joined, or what it was like to serve.  I joined because it just seemed to be a good way to get away from home.  I also wanted live up to my image of my Grandfathers.  They were both WWII vets and pilots.  Both were heroes to me.  The reality of my service was much less glamorous, most of which involved random invasion of personal space, standing in line, and waiting around.  But I wouldn’t have changed a thing. 

If you have today off thank a vet.  Somehow they enabled a bunch of people who didn’t serve to get a day off from work.  And I am cool with that.  Enjoy, reflect, and tip back a cold one for me. 

-pf

 

Tagged

One thought on “Veterans Day On

  1. planetross says:

    Remembrance Day was yesterday here (time zone and all), but I thought about my Grandfather and Great Uncle a little bit more than usual.
    I associate Remembrance Day/Veterans Day with WW1 and WW2, but not so much with everything that came after: Korea, Viet Nam, Iraq #1 and #2, Afghanistan, …

    I did have the day off because it’s saturday now (12th), but I’ll tip a whiskey instead of a beer. cheers!

Leave a Reply

