Yes, Kirk.

Yes!

Affirmative, Sure, Certainly, Absolutely, Indeed, Naturally, Surely, Of course, Sure thing, Aye, Yeah, Yea, Right, Ok, Agreed, Why not?, No problem, Fair enough, By all means, Nod, Thumbs up.

I didn’t k now that I had anything in common with William Shatner until I read William Shatner’s new book, Shatner Rules.  It’s not much of a book, but for me it was worth reading.  Mainly I really enjoy William Shatners outlook on life.  He sums it up with one word, “Yes” 

Actually, William Shatner and I have two things in common.  He says “Yes” and we act like different people at work.  It’s an example of the Jekyll and Hyde syndrome.

In retrospect reading his book just reinforces what I already thought about him.   He has, like many of us, a split personality.  He is one person at home and another at work. He is Kirk-light when he is relaxing at home and full-Kirk when on camera.  But that’s ok; he earns a living on camera.  When I am at work I am a slightly different person that when I am at home.  I am more “ON” than at home, fully into what I am doing with no room for slacking and goofing off.  Well, ok, a little room…  Flounder light vs. Full Flounder?

I was influenced early in life by three main heroes.  My Dad, my Uncle Jim, and James Kirk, yes a father figure,  a hippy artist and a swaggering, overbearing, tin-plated, dictator with delusions of godhood.  It’s no wonder that I turned out rather odd and quite proud of it at the same time. 

In William Shatners book, Shatner Rules, he shares stories about his life, star trek, relationships, success, conventions, and a whole lot of stuff that I was good just not knowing.  I have always suspected that William Shatner was not quite acting when he played Jim Kirk.  I have always felt that it was a display of his alter ego, full-Kirk.  Which is just fine with me, some of my favorite actors are the ones that seem to pull off being themselves, but amplified.   Harrison Ford is a good example of this, we like him and we like the characters he plays, but he is really just playing himself.  I find real actors rather spooky.  They can be anyone, and everyone.  They should be licensed. 

One of the themes of his book is “Yes”.  He demonstrates that you have to say yes a lot to be successful in life.  Sure he said “Yes” to a lot of stuff that he probably shouldn’t have, but so have we all.  But I firmly believe that even a stupid “Yes” opens doors to other possibilities.  I am not talking about a really self-destructive “Yes”, like doing drugs, accepting a dare, or having one more for the road, I am speaking about what a person does when opportunity knocks.  This is the kind of “Yes” that speaks of bravery and being immune to feeling self-conscience about looking silly. 

I have known a lot of people over the years that are reluctant to volunteer for anything.  They have the attitude that it is safer to stand in the background and say nothing.  They feel that volunteers are not credited with success and are first to be thrown under the bus when things go south.  I have found just the opposite to be true.  You can’t move up unless you step up. 

So far in my limited experience I have been pretty successful at stepping up, and not so much at moving up.  This is primarily because most of my moves, career wise, have been lateral.  But that is just fine with me; a new adventure seems to always wait for me around the corner.  Say yes and stuff happens.  Bow out and you remain where you are.  Which is fine for some people, they may like it where they are.  But like William Shatner, I am willing to take the risk and say “Yes” and risk making a fool out of myself.  I usually go full-flounder at work. 

How about you?

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Yes, Kirk.

  1. planetross says:

    I need a foil to play off of, so at work I am a bit more full-planetross playing off of what my students are doing or thinking. At home, I don’t have a foil to play off of, so I read other people’s blogs and work off of that.
    I’m more full on at work and full off at home … like that stuff from Karate Kid … or something usually.

    note: I say “Yes” to a lot of stuff that people don’t think I will say “Yes” to: … unless it’s stuff I’ve said “Yes” to and have got burned on before.

Leave a Reply

