Horsetooth falls

 

 

My lovely wife and I decided to go on a little hike last Sunday.  We have gone on hikes before, but we usually go down to Boulder to hike the Flatirons or some such trail.  This was mainly because of my work, my boss is an avid hiker and enjoys taking his people on Team Building exercises, he lives in Boulder so QED that’s where we go.  This Sunday we decided that we would explore a more local hiking spot.  Horsetooth rock and park is only about 18miles from our house, which is a lot better than the hour long drive to Boulder.  We went to Jax on Saturday and bought a map of the trails and roads for the area.  I packed a light back pack with the map, GPS, some pepper-spray (black bears), some snacks and a few bottles of water, and a first aid kit.  We headed out first thing on Sunday morning.

We were among the first to arrive to the parking area at the trail head.  As we drove in I noticed a sign that stated that the park and trails were funded by the Colorado Lottery.  This is all well and good until you get into the parking lot and find that you have to pay $6.00.  Oh well. 

 

There are multiple trails that branch off from the trail head, some easy, some hard.  Some are from my perspective insane.  We decided on a light to moderate hike to Horsetooth falls.  It’s only about a mile and a half from the trail head to the falls.  I was gratified that the way this distance was measured was by someone actually measuring the trail rather than “As the crow flies” otherwise we wouldn’t have made it.  I checked my GPS and the trail length is fairly accurate. 

 

 

My lovely wife and I walk a lot.  We take walks in the evenings and we both walk a bit at work, maybe average 4 to 7 miles a day depending on circumstances.  This usually entails walking on flat level surfaces, sidewalks and streets and such.  Hiking in the foothills is an entirely different type of walking, something that we as middle aged, empty nest, adults forget periodically.  It turned out to be good exercise with a view, we had a fantastic time.  We survived the hike and decided that we were winded enough to feel obligated to commit ourselves to making this a weekly event.  We will see how long this lasts as winter is fast approaching.  I have no plans on purchasing snow shoes at the present time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The scenery was beautiful; however the falls were a bit disappointing.  I figure that this late in the season the snow was mostly melted and maybe the falls would be more impressive in the spring, I plan on finding out next year. 

 Trickle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I highly recommend Horstooth falls as a nice hike for a beginner (like me).  It’s not too strenuous, while still satisfying.

 

Top of the Falls

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PF

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Horsetooth falls

  1. planetross says:

    Was there any water in the waterfall? … or was it just Fall?

    Where I grew up there was “Horse Shoe Bay” (bay), “Horsefly” (town), and “Horse, Flying Horse! Watch Out!” (horse flying area).

    note: I made up one of those places. hee hee!

Leave a Reply

