Happy Birthday TEOTWAWKI

Well today is my birthday. I don’t plan on doing anything special other than calling my Mom and Dad to thank them. I am grateful they had sex and made me. (The easy part) I am also really grateful that they did such a good job of keeping me out of trouble and providing a good example for me to follow. (The hard part)

Mom, thanks for your labor. Hope it didn’t hurt too much.

Dad, thanks for putting up with my shit.

This year my birthday feels kind of small and shallow. Like something more important is over shadowing the date. Oh yea… Then end of the world is tomorrow, I almost forgot.

Harold Camping, president of Family Radio, has predicted that the rapture will occur on May 21, 2011 at 6pm. For some reason this is news worthy. He is getting a lot of attention, billboards, signs, news stories; the media seems to be spending an inordinate amount of time and effort on this nut bag. Oh and there is even a website dedicated to debunking his timeline theory of the rapture, while quoting the bible as proof? To me this is like using the amount of psychics who win the lottery as proof of the existence of paranormal activity.

Anyway, here is the website.

Whenever something like this comes up my mind starts to wander and think of the possibilities.

How do Hindus, Buddhists, Muslims, and Wiccans view this news?

Here is a great website that explores all kinds of good information on this subject.

Let’s just say for arguments sake that the rapture happens like some people imagine. All good Christians are suddenly transported to heaven on May 21, 2011 at 6pm. I have just a few questions.

What time zone? I think it would be pretty important to know.

If god does the rapture thing according to time zones the news media will be rather busy. I expect a rough day for FARK, probably some major server crashes.

Does god just take their souls but leave behind everything else?

If so, will there be a bunch of soulless zombies walking around?

If I am in Wal-Mart during the rapture, will I be able to tell the difference?

I guess we just have to wait for tomorrow to find out.

I don’t usually make a Birthday wish, but this year I am going to make an exception. For my Birthday I would like for the world not to end.

I feel pretty confident that my wish will come true.

-pf

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

