Twenty six years today.

We are all a little weird and life’s a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love. ~Author Unknown

Anyone can be passionate, but it takes real lovers to be silly.
– Rose Franken

26 years ago I publicly committed my undying love to one woman. I have never had a cause to regret uttering the lines. Actually the vows accidentally got swapped, I wasn’t supposed to say “obey”, but it all worked out.

Spouse: someone who’ll stand by you through all the trouble you wouldn’t have had if you’d stayed single. ~Author Unknown

I like that quote, too me trouble is like luck. Are kids trouble? You bet your ass, but I wouldn’t have it another way. I have spent more of my life being married than single, I wouldn’t have any other way.

I looked up traditional anniversary gifts. There isn’t one for the twenty-sixth anniversary, only twenty-fifth and thirtieth. I guess if you make it that far you get a five year break, to save up some serious money.

So you may ask what is our secret? How does one keep a marriage strong for so long? Here are my thoughts on that subject….

First, it’s easier when you marry a woman who is smart, funny, sexy, and is also your best friend. I had a head start.

Second, keeping her is easier when you grow together. The hard part is keeping up.

Third, treat each other as an individual first and your spouse second. Respect is critical. To earn respect it takes years of honesty and trust.

Fourth, embrace the humor of being weird, never try to change each other to fit some ideal vision.

Fifth, unconditionally love each other for what they are.

PF

Tagged

3 thoughts on “Twenty six years today.

  1. Dane says:

    Happy Anniversary, PF and lovely wife. I remember it like it was yesterday, despite the uncountable whiskey sours.

  2. S. Le says:

    Happy Anniversary to you lot! We’ve got you beat though. Don’t know how we’ve muddled through all these years, but somehow it’s worked. I think it’s because Husband is VERY tolerant.

  3. planetross says:

    Happy 26th Anniversary!
    I could pull off a 26th anniversary if I get busy now … and eat right … exercise … avoid illnesses, diseases, and maladies that others get … quit smoking … yada yada yada …
    I don’t think one day I will say that I’ve been married longer than I was single though … but I’m an optimist, so it could happen.

Leave a Reply

