Royal Wedding

 

This morning my lovely wife got up early to watch the Royal wedding; I got up at my usual time.  Actually we recorded the whole thing, from (2am – 8am), but she did get up earlier than normal.  I only watched for a while, not because I am not interested, but because I had something better to do.  It’s not that I don’t enjoy a good wedding; I just don’t personally know anyone in the party.  My lovely wife loves this kind of thing, and I encourage her to watch as much as she likes.  Acceptance is the key to a long marriage.

 

Anyway, from what I saw of the event it looked real nice. But then again, if you have the resources that the British Royals have you can have a nice wedding too.  

 

This got my wife and me to reminiscing about our wedding. We were married almost exactly 26 years ago and it seems like only yesterday.  Well ok, last month or so.  My wife did an outstanding job of making the event nearly perfect.  For a long time it was considered a high water mark, a tough act to follow.   I can’t imagine what it would be like for a bride in England who has her wedding scheduled for this weekend.  It would also be tough for the groom.  He may just feel just a bit inadequate.  

 

As much as it pains me to admit it I think it is good to have a Royal spectacle like this every once in a while.  Hopefully lots of kids watched the wedding.  Little girls should expect to be treated like a princess.  Little boys should learn the value of behaving like gentlemen.  I think it is a good thing to raise the expectations of our youth.  

 

The one part of the whole spectacle that I really enjoyed was when Kate was getting out of the carriage she handed her bouquet to her new husband William.  After she got of the carriage she messed around with her dress while William awkwardly held the flowers.  At that moment he had the look that all husbands get on their faces when asked to hold your wife’s purse in the mall. You could almost read his mind “Honey, please…. I look stupid holding these sissy-assed flowers”

 

My first thought was, get used to it.  Acceptance of this one act is the key to a happy marriage.  

-pF

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Royal Wedding

  1. S. Le says:

    LOL! I actually thought the same thing about the flowers.

  2. planetross says:

    I’ve read this one earlier … before now … maybe a week a go … or there abouts.

    I’ll hold anything for somebody I know … even the bag sometimes. hee hee!

    note: I have “don’t care” written all over my face … sometimes it’s invisible.

Leave a Reply

