Internet immortality or lack of privacy?

 

As I become more mature (old) I find that I spend more time thinking about my legacy.   What will I leave behind when I finally kick the bucket?  Since it seems that the internet never forgets, I will be leaving behind billions of bytes of information. 

 

Some people feel this is an invasion of privacy, however, I have been known to see the glass half full, so I naturally see this as an opportunity.  This is really incredible if you think about it for a moment. In the past the only way for a person to leave behind a written record of their activities is to write things down, in a journal for instance.  However, there is only one copy.  Only a privileged and talented few actually publish multiple copies of written proof that they were here.  They are called published authors.  But with the internet, anyone with access to a computer can leave behind a legacy in megabytes.  And all these megabytes never seem to go away.  According to Google I have so far used 2007 Megabytes.  This blog probably uses at least that due to all the photos.  That is a lot of information.

 

I wonder if in the future it would be possible for someone to inherit all those bytes.  How would you like it if your heirs were given a flash drive containing everything you ever posted on the internet, emails, photos, everything?  Would it reflect well on your life, or would you look foolish and immature?  

 

I think this is a good thing to reflect upon before posting something on the internet.   

I think this is especially important to people on Facebook and Twitter to ponder.

 

What do you think?  Are you proud of your megabytes?

 

 

-Pf

One thought on “Internet immortality or lack of privacy?

  1. planetross says:

    I think my blog stands as a record of what I think … or don’t think usually … or usually think regularly.

    I just like that a few nieces and nephews read my crap and think they have a weird uncle … or aunt … I’m not sure how that works.

    note: I will gladly leave what I’ve enscribed on the internet as a legacy … or an “armacy” … as I think about it for future generations, but not for future future generations … because by then my words will be like reading Shakepeare … and I wouldn’t submit anyone to that stuff.

Leave a Reply

