Brain Balance

My trip to Portland is coming to an end.  I have learned a lot during the last two weeks. This makes me wonder about my brain capacity.  Have I increased the total amount of stored information in my brain?  Or has my brain reached critical mass and every new bit of knowledge necessitates the removal of some old? 

 

I have heard it said that we humans only use a small percentage of our total brain capacity.  I hope that is true, sometimes I feel that my brain is analogist to a thumb drive.  Once full you have to erase something to make room for more knowledge.  The problem is that I don’t seem to have any control over what gets erased. 

 

When performing an inventory or my memory I find that I have unintentionally purged most of what happened from birth to about 1970.  I am sure a lot of hippies have the same issue, though they may have done so by recreational use of herbs and fungi.  I would also love to loose some choice moments during middle school and early high school.  I am sure others feel this way as well.  Those were some tough years. 

 

I think I would be reluctant to go back and delete memories if I could.  A lot of bad shit makes us what we are.  Sure some memories are painful and sometimes I find myself dwelling on times I regret, but I have learned from all of them. 

 

All of this reminds me of an episode of Cheers. 

 

Claven’s Buffalo Beer Theory

“Well ya see, Norm, it’s like this… A herd of buffalo can only move as fast as the slowest buffalo.   And when the herd is hunted, it is the slowest and weakest ones at the back that are killed first.  This natural selection is good for the herd as a whole, because the general speed and health of the whole group keeps improving by the regular killing of the weakest members. In much the same way, the human brain can only operate as fast as the slowest brain cells. 

“Excessive intake of alcohol, as we know, kills brain cells. But naturally, it attacks the slowest and weakest brain cells first. In this way, regular consumption of beer eliminates the weaker brain cells, making the brain a faster and more efficient machine, which is why you always feel smarter after a few beers.”

Yes, I have been drinking beer after class.  Balance?   I hope so.

 

-pF

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Brain Balance

  1. Dane says:

    Wise man, Cliff Claven.

    I have found that the things that happened are still there. I’m starting to get old-guy flashbacks now, I think, or at least the beginnings of them. I am remembering things that I haven’t even though about for decades. My son is in middle school, so I find myself talking about my experiences back then, and stuff comes back. Thus, I’ll be glad when he is done with middle school. Happens when I listen to classic rock stations, too, unfortunately.

    Saw this on the web somewhere last week and wondered if you saw it too: People only use 10% of their brains; Zombies use the whole thing. The zombie apocalypse will make us all so much more efficient.

  2. planetross says:

    I don’t think I’m remembering any more stuff than I used to when I was younger, but I think I’m getting better at processing it into something that could be classified as learning.

    I like the Cliff Claven quote.

Leave a Reply

