“crossover books”

 

My son bought Pride and Prejudice and Zombies a few months ago.  I really enjoy the Zombie apocalypse genera but couldn’t bring myself to suffer through Pride and Prejudice.  It was bad enough to watch on TV, the only thing that saved it for me was Keira Knightley.  Now I hear that a movie version of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies is in the works.  I also heard that Natalie Portman will be playing the lead.  Ever since The Professional I have been a huge Natalie Portman fan.  I may have to see this in the theater. 

Anyway, when my son bought the book I hoped that this kind crossover continues.  Then other books came out.  When Android Karenina, Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters, and others began to crawl into my local Barns and Nobles I started to suspect that some conspiracy was a foot.  What’s wrong with this picture?  Nothing but adapted chick books! 

Then it happened.  I happened to run across the one book that evens out all the previous chick books. 

Behold: Night of the Living Trekkies by Kevin D. Anderson and Sam Stall(2010)

What a perfect addition to my Zombie book library.  Move over World War Z and Zombie Survival Guide, you have a new shambler in the shelf.  Kevin D. Anderson and Sam Stall must be serious Star Trek geeks.  I know I am one as well.  I was concerned that the book would make STOG (Star Trek Old Generation) mistakes and try to fake their way through.  But no….!  I could tell that they have embraced their inner geek to the fullest extent. 

I know that as a literary classic Night of the Living Trekkies will not be able to stand on its own, however, if you are like me and love both the world of Star Trek and Zombie movies, this is a must read.  Without giving the plot away I have just a few bullet statements to make to tease you into buying this book.

  • Primary weapons:  Bat’leth and Tazers.
  • Borg Zombies.  (redundant?)
  • Princess Leia quotes from Star Wars
  • The hero is named Jim.
  • “He’s dead Jim”, only used once.
  • Reluctant Red shirt hero.
  • Big Eyed Alien pepper spray-fu
  • Half Mime
  • Horta-Fu

And much, much more!

I Give the book Two and two third stars. 

This brings up a conversation my son and I had the other night.  We were discussing other crossover books that should be made. 

Zombie Star Wars is by far the best bet for the largest fan base.  

He prefered Zombie Wookies.  Good idea, but I like a little comedy relief.

Gungans.  Zombie Gungans.

Please, someone write a story about a zombie outbreak among the Gungans.  I can’t think of a better group of zombies, especially if Jar-jar Binks lead the invasion.  I would love to see little Anakin Skywalker get bit and Obi-Wan put him down with a light saber.  Oh and Jar-Jar gets it from the Princess right between the eyes with in the first five minutes.

-pF

Tagged

3 thoughts on ““crossover books”

  1. S. Le says:

    Love it. I’ve got to check it out.

  2. caveblogem says:

    War and Peace and Zombies

  3. Mike says:

    There IS a zombie Star Wars book. It’s called Death Troopers.


Leave a Reply

