The gift

 

I received a wonderful gift in the mail the other day.  It wasn’t a mystery gift, I knew it was coming.  Planetross sent me the book he wrote, Same Ship, Different Day.  In fact he sent me two, one of which was autographed.  I assume that the first book was to read and the other, like a sac of potatoes left on the door step, was to cut into small pieces, boil, and eat.  It didn’t taste as bad as I thought it would.  

It was big fun explaining to my lovely wife why I got a package from Japan in a plane wrapper. 

I want to say thank you Ross.  I really enjoyed your book.  You are always welcome in my home if you ever come to Colorado. I promise to show you a good time.  I also promise that you will have all of your fingers and toes when you leave.  I don’t give that to just anyone who I have never met in person.  

I placed ‘Same Ship, Different Day’ between two of my favorite books, ‘Stranger in a Strange Land’ and ‘The Zombie Survival Guide’. 

 

I can’t say the book is thought provoking because, well, one should not provoke things too much as they might get angry and leave.  If creativity was a muscle then the book could be described as an ointment that you would use to enhance performance.   It would probably be illegal if used in the Olympics.

The top 5 reasons that I couldn’t put ‘Same Ship, Different Day’ down.  Well I did eventually put it down, but that wasn’t until I read it cover to cover.
#5 My blog name is printed on the back page.

#4 The pages are not numbered.  To me this is important.

#3  ‘Perfect’ (I am an ass man)

#2  The story of ‘Harvey’s Hands’.

#1  I know the author and can ask questions if I have the fancy.  Steven King won’t return my calls, the Bastard.

Some people measure time in minutes, I measure reading time in beer.   It was a 3 beer book.  Not too short, nor too long.  Just right.

So I give this book three gold stars.   Ah hell, after three beers I give it a bottle cap too.

Go out and buy one if you haven’t all ready.  I will eventually pay Ross back and send him a free copy of my book when it’s finished. 

I better get started soon. 

-pF

4 thoughts on “The gift

  1. Mitch says:

    Damn Steven King!!

  2. S. Le says:

    Got my copy as well! Mine was forced upon me but as I never turn down anything “free” I graciously accepted it.

  3. Here, here! A three star book for sure! Many thanks to Ross.

  4. planetross says:

    Thanks for the kind words.

    As for reason #3, whenever I think of Brazil that photo is the first image that pops into my head.

    note to Donald Diddams: don’t forget the bottle cap! … 3 stars and a bottle cap.

Leave a Reply

