Disappointed relief

Last night I got an e-mail from my boss saying that my trip to Spain (Leon) was in jeopardy due to the ash cloud from Eyjafjallajokull.  (ay-yah-FYAH’-plah-yer-kuh-duhl) The e-mail said to check my e-mail again at 5am and a decision will be made whether or not to delay the trip.  The next morning (This morning) 5am rolls around and no e-mail, so I figured it was still on.  At 5:45 my lovely wife and not so lovely son drive me to the airport. A little after 6am I get an e-mail that the show is off and we will be rescheduling the meeting.  We stopped for breakfast before going back home.  Our flights were just fine, no delay; it was the team from Denmark and China that couldn’t get to Spain in time to make the meeting worth while.

I am not sure how I feel about this turn of events.  I did a lot of prep work for this meeting, and I was/am really excited to be part of this group.  I also did a lot of extra work getting my night classes ready for my absence, assigning homework, tests, etc.  Now I have to call the whole thing off and go back to normal.  On the other hand I really hate traveling and feel a great sense of relief.  I am a largish man and the prospect of being a size 13 human forced into a size 8 shoe for 12 hours is a bit unnerving.  So naturally I feel relieved, but also disappointed. 

It is surprisingly tiring to deal with conflicting emotions. 

-pf

Tagged

4 thoughts on “Disappointed relief

  1. S. Le says:

    Sorry you couldn’t go. No I’m not. Well unless you are then I am.

  2. Yea, that’s how I feel.
    -Pf

  3. It’s the wasted prep work that would bug me. Once I have a plan, I really want to stick with it. Glad that you get to avoid Airport Hell, though. Flying is no fun anymore.

    -TP

  4. planetross says:

    My co-worker planned to go back home to England for her holiday. Her flights there and back were okay, but it was touch and go going and coming.

    I feel the same way as S. Le … unless you don’t.

Leave a Reply

