Dry dock

In much the same way that my family is into Rocketry and fireworks, my Mom, Dad were out sailing every weekend.  This was back in the late 70s and early 80s.  This may have been one reason for my adventurous attitude towards life in general.  My childhood was relatively free of restrictions and fear.  My family would go out to the lake my brother and I were basically off the leash.   All weekend, every weekend.  It was a wonderful childhood.  We could go anywhere and do anything we liked and often did.  I still remember the drought in 81 when the lake dried up and all the boating basically stopped.  Most of the sail boats were pulled out of their berths and sat on their trailers in the parking lot.  It was sad to see. 

This memory flooded back to me when I went for a leisurely stroll around the marina in Ringkøbing yesterday afternoon.  

 

Some of the boats even looked familiar, like they would be as at home in the parking lot of Folsom lake. 

 

This photo is for you Dad. 

Wouldn’t you have loved to sail this one in the frostbite series?

-PF

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Dry dock

  1. planetross says:

    Boats out of water look like … fish out of water for some reason.
    I don’t know why.

  2. S. Le says:

    Ross is right. They look so odd on land like that.

Leave a Reply

