Tak for mad

I have finally found out the secret to Danish cuisine, well the secret to how to pay for breakfast and dinner for the price of a single breakfast.   Breakfast and lunch are paid for by the company I work under contract with.  The trick is finding diner for as cheap as possible.  I found that the secret is to take some breakfast with you when you’re done.  

 

Apparently it is not a secret at all, but something that the Danes do all the time.  Breakfast in Denmark is a combination of lunch meat, salami, lettuce, mayonnaise, and rolls, fresh fruit, and cold cereal and sometimes fish.  I noticed that they always serve us way more than we can eat, and I noticed that at the breakfast bar there are always rolls and rolls of aluminum foil.  Then the other morning I noticed other people (besides our group) getting breakfast.  They made two sandwiches, one for breakfast, and another to stuff into their jacket presumably for lunch. 

 

Bingo.

 

I also get a paid lunch so my breakfast later becomes my dinner, and since outside is about the same temperature as the inside of a refrigerator all I have to do is leave my breakfast/dinner in the car until after work.  

 

Speaking of paid lunch, today we had salad, boiled potatoes, and frikadeller.  My Mom will immediately recognize the name as she has made them for us many times.  Tak for mad (thank you for the meal) Frikadellar is a basically a Danish meatball.  These looked a lot like the eggs from Alien.  They were large, tasted wonderful, and didn’t hatch a single monster.  I highly recommend them to anyone wishing to try a rational Danish dish.  The ones served in our cafeteria were not like the recipe listed below.  There was no sauce and the chef told me it was veal. 

 

Here is a recipe I found

Original source

 

FRIKADELLER DANISH MEAT BALLS  

 

1 lb. meat loaf mixture (veal, pork, beef)

1 onion, minced

1 c. fine bread crumbs

1 1/2 c. milk

1 egg, beaten

1/2 tsp. salt & pepper each

4 oz. Danish blue cheese

6 tbsp. butter

2 tbsp. flour

1 c. chicken bouillon

1 c. dairy sour cream

 

Combine meat, onion and crumbs; beat in milk, eggs, seasoning until light. Cut cheese in 1/2 inch cubes. With wet hands, pat 1/4 cup of mixture around each cheese cube and shape into egg-like ovals. Brown Frikadeller on all sides in butter until thoroughly done. Remove and keep warm. Stir flour into drippings, add bouillon and cook until thick. Stir in sour cream, heat gently. Pour over Frikadeller.

Tagged ,

One thought on “Tak for mad

  1. planetross says:

    I love the meat, bread, cheese style breakfasts. It’s like lunch but earlier.
    My favourite is the chocolate sprinkles Dutch people put on their breakfast bread. Yum!
    The meatballs sound good!

Leave a Reply

