DK Flounder day 4

 

Today I got lost in Viborg.

I thought it was a small town.  How could I get lost?  

Small towns with narrow streets seem to go on forever.

103_0778

I also had another handicap.  I can’t tell where North is. 

 103_0781

In Colorado I always have the mountains, when I see them I can tell where West is, and the rest is academic.  Here in Viborg, I can’t even see the sky.  Inside a maze of three and four story brick buildings I can’t even see a landmark during the day light.

 

 Lucky for me, my flat is near a huge stadium.  Once it got dark I was able to follow the stadium lights to a familiar street.  I tried to use Google-earth on my cell phone; however, you have to know where you are going and where you are for it to be any use.  I didn’t even know how to spell the street name. 

 

I now have my flat marked in Google-maps so I should be able to find home next time I start to wander around town.

 

Oh, and I also found a lovely statue during my wanderings. 

Statue

I hope you agree with me that this is probably the oddest religious statue ever created for public viewing.  I could be wrong.  Many people believe that god gave man the artistic talent to create things of beauty.  This proves that god has a sense of humor.  I will try to look up the story on the statue and post it in the comments.

 

-pf

Tagged

2 thoughts on “DK Flounder day 4

  1. planetross says:

    That’s a strange statue: it looks like a caterpillar … but it’s not sitting on a pillar. hee hee!

  2. S. Le says:

    Lovely village! I’d agree with Planetross if I knew what his comment actually meant. It is one crazy statue!

Leave a Reply

