Eaton Coin Op

One of the nice things about having a camera phone is being able to take a photo anywhere and anytime for any reason.  Freedom, you got to love it.  I have a tendency of taking pictures of anything that I think is funny or would be interesting to write about.

 

 A while back, on the way home from the prairie, I stopped in Eaton to fuel up my RFT and use the facilities.  Eaton is a small Colorado town that has a charm all its own.  I go there often because my buddy Elvis lives there and because the ACE hardware in Eaton is the only place in Northern Colorado that still has a decent stock of ammunition for sale.  I simply love the fact that I can pick up a box of .22s, a few targets, some jerky, a metric 10mm stainless steel allen-head bolt with left handed threads, and an ice cream sandwich to go, all in one store.  

 

Ace doesn’t sell gas, so I stopped at a Kum and Go.  Yes that is the real name, you can find one near by clicking  here.  Kum and Go’s have been popping up all over Colorado, great little stores with an odd name.  They have their own brand of iced drinks, no not slushies, that’s a 7-11 brand name, and it’s trademarked. Kum and Go sells Coolies, same thing better name. The store looked new and fresh, that is until I went into the restroom.  It was like a trip back in time to the 70s. While washing my hands I noticed a coin-op machine hanging on the wall. 

It’s been years since I saw a condom machine in a men’s room, so I was compelled to take a picture.

 0524091718a

 

Aroma’s in four daring colors!? Aroma?  WTF?  Oh well, to each his  own.  This is the kind of thing I would expect to see in a restroom in Las Vegas, San Francisco, or maybe New Jersey, not in little ol’ Eaton.  Hey, it takes all kinds to make the world go around, and I as a previous resident of Northern California endorse such activities. 

 

I just didn’t expect such an interesting coin-op device in this little town.  I have to assume that it is still working and that someone is collecting money from the sale of these imaginative and decorative safety devices.  That would imply a demand for these products….

 

I imagine a sugar beet farmer stopping by on his way home from the fields thinking to himself “Hmm the misses would sure get rowdy if I bought one of them neon green rubber thing that smells of spearmint.”  Or a teenage farm hand texting his girl on a Friday night:   “Bring out the strobe light honey I got me a glow in the dark banana”!

 

And there are people who feel I am missing out on the best part of city life by living in the “fly over”

 

-pf

Tagged , , ,

5 thoughts on “Eaton Coin Op

  1. planetross says:

    I haven’t seen one of those for a long time. Oh! it’s bringing back memories of urinals in seedy bars.

    In Tokyo there is a condom shop called “Condomania” which is pretty good.
    I think in Victoria, B.C. they have a “Rubber Rainbow” shop still.

  2. Mike says:

    I see them frequently here in gas station bathrooms. Especially at truck stops. They always crack me up.

  3. Layman Pong says:

    My old girlfriend used to call me Kum and Go.

    Man, I’ve been in high school too long; another fifteen years to graduate :(

  4. I haven’t see one of these in a loooong time! We have a shop here in town called Condom Sense which is pretty humerious to look through. Always a little scary to see who’s in there shopping. Guess the vending machines have their upsides.

    “Uncle Steve! What are you doing?!?”

    “WHAT! Oh… Hi, nephew… Errr. I thought this was a mint dispenser. Silly me… Heh… Well, gottagonow!”

    -Turkish Prawn

  5. I haven’t see one of these in a loooong time! We have a shop here in town called Condom Sense which is pretty humorous to look through. Always a little scary to see who’s in there shopping. Guess the vending machines have their upsides.

    “Uncle Steve! What are you doing?!?”

    “WHAT! Oh… Hi, nephew… Errr. I thought this was a mint dispenser. Silly me… Heh… Well, gottagonow!”

    -Turkish Prawn

Leave a Reply

