Interview: Planet Ross

 

Your blog is one of the first that appeared on my Blogroll and one of the few that I frequent on a daily basis.  I really enjoy the fact that not only do you update frequently, but the content is usually interesting and entertaining. You provide a sideways point of view that I find stimulating.  Thank you. 

 

 

PF- I have always wondered how you got the teaching job in Japan.  Is this something that fell into your lap, or did you actively seek this occupation and location?

 

PR- I fell into it. After coming back from a 20 month trip, I was broke and realized I wanted to keep traveling. Teaching English overseas seemed like the easiest way to do that. At the time Japan was the easiest place to find a job … and the most profitable.

 

PF- As a fellow owner of an unusual vehicle, I was wondering what kind of van you have and are they common in Japan?  It seems to my eye a bit odd.  If it is uncommon then why did you decide to drive that particular vehicle?

 

PR-It’s a 1991 Subaru Sambar. It’s probably the most common van in Japan. It’s the van of choice among oldmen and farmers. It was given to me for free about 7 years ago. (pinching myself)

 

PF- You may have mentioned this before, but I have to ask since I am so jealous.  How did you get the Zombie Chicken Award?  I am a huge zombie movie fan and zombie chickens seem to me to be just a bit less funny than zombie gerbils, but not much.

 

PR- S. Le. over at I Feel Unusual passed along the Zombie Chicken award. It originally spawns from Dennis the Vizsla at Dennis’ Diary of Destruction I think. You deserve one. I officially bestow a Zombie Chicken award on you.

 

Yea!  Thanks you for the zombie poultry honor.  Well, that does it for the silly part of the interview.  How about taking a whack at the usual 10 questions…

 

What is your favorite word? 

snifter … or maybe waffles.

 

What is your least favorite word?

verbatim … or maybe no.

 

What turns you on [creatively, spiritually or emotionally]?

Extended travel turns my crank the most, but writing stupid stuff is a close second. … also … creatively: coffee, spiritually: alcohol, emotionally: too much coffee and alcohol.

 

What turns you off?

People with ulterior agendas, schemers, and overly opinionated people.

 

What sound or noise do you love?

Frying bacon.

 

What sound or noise do you hate?

Someone, other than me, eating all my fried bacon.

 

What is your favorite curse word?

I haven’t put a curse on anybody for a few years now. I’ve forgotten most of those words.

 

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

I’d like to be a retired sports star or maybe a washed up rock band member.

 

What profession would you not like to do?

Anything involving stress or networking.

 

If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

You were so wrong about this one! You are so busted! … but you were right about being poisoned by your jealous lover at 120 years old … so you can come in.

 Thank you.

5 thoughts on “Interview: Planet Ross

  1. S. Le says:

    Brilliant interview. Bravo! The real Planetross has been exposed. Now, please cover him back up. That’s indecent!

  2. planetross says:

    Thanks for the interview!
    It’s always nice to get a bit of recognition … except in a police line-up.

  3. […] note: I was interviewed by Prairie Flounder  over at Sky Fishing. If you’re interested … or not … check out his cool […]

  4. Tammy says:

    Nice interview. You really do like bacon and pigs! I thought it was just made up.
    And the truth is revealed about the Rossmobile, oldman Ross. Or do you prefer farmer Ross?

Leave a Reply

