Tanks Windsor

I got a call from my friend John last night just before bed.  He called to ask me if I knew anything about a large amount of desert camouflage military vehicles entering Main Street in Windsor.

“How much have you had to drink John?”

“No I am serious, there is something strange going on”

John is a bit paranoid, but incredibly intelligent and loyal friend.  I trust his eyes, even when looking through beer.

“I have no idea what is going on, but I will let you know if I hear anything.”

This morning my wife calls me.  Apparently John wasn’t drinking.

She took this photo with her phone on the way to work.

 WHS Tanks

 

This is the Windsor High School parking lot. 

We kind of moved to a small town to get away from the unusual and fast passed city life.   Well, It worked.  The odd events simply happen at a slower pace around here.  I lived for years on military bases and know how convoys work, so I am not alarmed by the sight of an armored column rolling through town.  How others will react should be entertaining.

-pf

Tagged ,

6 thoughts on “Tanks Windsor

  1. Archvillain says:

    The pic is a bit fuzzy, but it looks like those AFVs are on trailers. There isn’t an armored column “rolling through town”. There are AFVs getting transported through town- probably enroute to the Yakima firing range.

    It is vanishingly unlikely that Windsor, CO, is anticipated as being the flash point for some sort of widespread military conflict, civil unrest, or Zombie Apocalypse.

    OK, that last one is a bit more likely than the others, but you wouldn’t use tanks to fight zombies. Read World War Z if you don’t believe me.

  2. Yes, I am sure that they are on trailers. Trailers roll on wheels so I still say they are rolling through town. It’s a good thing too, treads are murder on pavement. Flash point? Who said anything about a flash point? I am looking forward to watching the local reactions, these kinds of movements happen, I am enjoying the show.

    As for Zombie Apocalypse I think tanks are a perfect tool, you don’t have to shoot, just run over them, then come back with a front end loader to serve as a giant spatula for crows. Actually any large earth moving equipment would be invaluable. I wonder why this has never been explored in zombie Movies. I would want a nice big front end loader for the family car during the zombie apocalypse.

    -pf

  3. Mike says:

    I always thought a grain combine would be fantastic for dealing with zombies. They always tend to congregate in large groups. You just drive through with the combine at head height and mow the lawn.

  4. Mike Malfunction says:

    Oh man, all you had to do was talk to them and tell them that I don’t live in that state anymore. By the way, sorry I was the less than perfect house guest…

  5. planetross says:

    I think if I woke up, opened the curtains, and saw them parked across the road: I’d be a bit worried … about what I did the night before.

Leave a Reply

