Fear of routine

I don’t know why, but I have been fighting against a habit of doing the same thing every day.  I was watching the movie Wanted the other night.  Sorry, I could wax poetically about how physically impossible most all of the special effects are, or how ridicules the plot line is, but I still enjoyed the movie. I mostly enjoyed the beginning of the movie, the transformation of the lead character as he grows a pair and leaves his tedious and painful life for a life of excitement and pain.  The song at the beginning of the movie particularly stuck a cord with me.

“Every Day Is Exactly The Same”

I believe I can see the future
Cause I repeat the same routine
I think I used to have a purpose
But then again
That might have been a dream
I think I used to have a voice
Now I never make a sound
I just do what I’ve been told
I really don’t want them to come around

-9″nails

 

Most of my readers would be shocked that I would have any concern of living a dull or tedious life.  My life is rich and interesting filled with interesting characters, diverse hobbies, and a loving wife.  How could I possible bitch about that?

 

I do fear falling into the quicksand of repetitive motion.  Doing the same thing at the same time of the day, day after day, scares the crap out of me.  It’s safe and easy to fall into the trap.  It’s comforting to know what’s around the corner, to know ones place in life.  It’s a slippery slope, like the dark side, once you go down the path it will forever shape your destiny. 

It may be an irrational fear, but it’s one of the only fears that I can do anything about.

 

So, I have been changing little things, these are almost imperceptible to people who know me.  (I kind of hope so)

 

I won’t go into details about the habits that I am trying to change, or at least shake up.  This would be boring and, well, tedious. 

 

To demonstrate my mood I will relate one little insignificant tidbit.  This morning I went to brush my teeth.  For some reason it seemed that there should be a way to change this activity to make it less repetitive.  So I held the cap in place and unscrewed the tooth paste tube.  Sure it’s a small change but it made me feel better.  A tiny rebellious squeak emitted from the part of my brain that enjoyed the movie Wanted.

 

-pf

Tagged , ,

One thought on “Fear of routine

  1. planetross says:

    I sometimes try to get up from the other side of my futon, but I keep walking in to the wall. hee hee!

    I remember an action coordinator for some movie saying … a good action sequence should be 110% of what a real person could actually do. I think most action coordinators don’t follow this rule.
    If my life was a movie at 110% of what I could actually do, … it would probably be called “Driving Miss Daisy”.

    I’ll try the toothpaste trick tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

