Colbert or Serenity?

 

 stephen-colbert

Being a science geek, I try to keep up on what’s going on in the world of space and space exploration.  I periodically check in on the NASA website to see what’s going on in one of the few tax payer funded government programs that I actually support.  It could be argued that there are better ways of spending tax dollars, but given the choice I would rather my taxes go to support NASA than most of the alphabet agencies currently in place.

 

Screenshot

Screenshot

It seems that NASAwould like help naming their latest attachment to the ISS.  Apparently the name “Node 3” just doesn’t have the same ring to it as some of the other nodes; Destiny, Columbus, Kibo, Zvezda, and Zarya. These sound so much more space worthy than “Node 3”.  I was gratified to learn that by far the name that is receiving the most votes is Serenity

 node-3

NASA has named many vehicles after space craft from noted science fiction stories.  However, I have to wonder if Serenity is popular this reason, or for the Serenity Prayer, or just from it’s normal meaning.  The other names we can choose from are not rooted in science fiction; Earthrise, Legacy, and Venture just don’t seem to have the same pull to the imagination as Serenity. 

 serenity-firefly-movie-logo

For those who are not in the know, Serenity is the name of the space craft in the cable television series “Fire Fly”from the genius of Joss Whedon.  Only fourteen episodes were ever made, however it has a serious cult following.  So much so that a major motion picture was made after the series was canceled. Serenity did quite well in the box office, and yes I own the entire DVD collection.

 

On the other hand there seems to be a write in campaign to name Node 3, Colbert.  Yea, I am a fan of the Colbert Report as well. I try to watch his show late at night, after work, after class, and with a drink, mostly because I have less class when I’m drunk.  For a little fun do a google search on the other write in names that are listed.  My other favorite is XENU.

 

I wonder if NASA is a bit confused as to why the write in names are so silly.  I hope not, that would make them rather dense.  Anytime you put out an internet poll, and allow the user to write in suggestions you’re bound to get this kind of response.  I am sure that the most powerful computer geeks in the country are assaulting NASA with suggestions using every trick in the net.  They are using the same techniques they use to fill my Google Spam filter.  I am shocked that the names are not related to penis enlargement, or weight loss. 

 

I hope that Serenity wins the contest.  I like the idea of having a component of the ISS named after a fictional ship that was used by its crew for smuggling and dodging an overzealous and oppressive nanny state government.  

Go Browncoats!

 

-pf

Tagged ,

5 thoughts on “Colbert or Serenity?

  1. I’d have to go with Serenity on this one. Sorry, Stephen.

  2. Burrowowl says:

    I voted for Xenu back when I found out about this. It wouldn’t do to anger all those thetans.

  3. S. Le says:

    I just included “Firefly” in today’s post. Didn’t realize you had as well. I’m sad every time I think about it being canceled. It was such a brilliant show!

    Serenity would be the only choice for me.

  4. planetross says:

    I remember seeing a bit of the Serenity movie; it looked pretty good.

    I’d vote for “node 4.5” just to screw up the ordering stuff.

  5. I love the idea of it being “Serenity.” If NASA needs anything, it’s dedicated fanboys (and girls). We’re already used to being obsessive and detail driven, now we can direct that at our elected officials to fun the only large governmental program I feel really good about.

    Having said that, I’d prefer it if it was Burt Rutan who was running the naming competition for his next space ship. Somehow naming Space Ship Two, Serenity instead makes so much more poetic sense.

    -TP

Leave a Reply

