‘Interesting’ work

            Sometimes at work I find myself in some ‘interesting’ places.  By interesting I mean places I would rather not go.  In the same vain as a swamp, jail, or a Nevada rest stop restroom is ‘interesting’. I work it a local Community College that has a wide Varity of programs for students.  Some of these are in old building with ‘interesting’ maintenance areas.  Some have ‘interesting’ class rooms.

            There is a particular boiler room that I periodically have to deal with.  The ceiling height is almost two stories but the floor space seems like just right for a walk in closet.  The room is so full of pipes, valves, pumps, boilers, controls, wire, lights, drains, and such. It looks like I imagine a WWII German submarine standing on end.  The room and most of its contents are so old that nary a week goes by when something doesn’t break, leak, or just plane stops.  Then I have the duty to wiggle a ladder into the maze and work my self into the tangle of pipe, some hot, others nearly warm, to find the problem.  Luckily for me in the last few years I have had a young lad that does this work for me.  However, he makes up for his eagerness to prove he can do the job by being fairly incompetent at figuring out what the problem is.  In time he will do just fine, in the mean time I have to wiggle myself into the mess.  I feel like a Luegi contortionist from the Mario Brothers video game. 

mario-luigi-boostt

I just hope there are no fire spitting fireballs up there.  As a mater of fact my co-worker is kind of short, pudgy and sports a moustache so the analogy isn’t too bad.  No he is not Italian nor is he a plumber, but hey it’s my story.  Write your own.  The point is that this kind of work doesn’t bother me too much, it’s ‘interesting’ but not scary.

            The place I dread going into is the storage room where the nursing classes store their teaching aids.  The people who designed the building did a good job in one respect; they placed all the equipment in the ceiling over hallways rather than above the class rooms.  This makes access much easier to schedule.  But this hall way always creeps me out.  First it’s quiet, there is hardly a sound in the entire space, and people only come in when they need to get something.  Second it’s the something they have to get that really gives me the creeps. 

medteck

Medical manikins and hospital stuff is all over the place.  It’s hard to concentrate when I keep looking over my shoulder because some hunk of plastic is watching me work. 

medtec

I am quite happy with my decision not to work in the medical field.  I think I decided that when I was four, maybe five.  I don’t remember, but it was a long, long, long time ago.  I am also grateful for people who choose to work in this field.  I am also sure they would be much more uneasy going up into the ceiling of my boiler room than I am, so it all works out in the end. 

            Do you have a place at your work you dread going into?  Besides the front door that is.

 

-Pf

7 thoughts on “‘Interesting’ work

  1. Burrowowl says:

    I’m pretty sure the dummy in the blue shirt tried to kill me in my sleep one time.

  2. Tony says:

    I dread going to the toilet at work after the assistant manager’s been in there. His guts is rotten as a steak after a month in the sun.

  3. Tony says:

    By the looks on their faces I think guy dummy has done something sinister to girl dummy, is she dead???

  4. S. Le says:

    I dread going into the breakroom but for a different reason. The gossip in there is malicious. I don’t enjoy it. There are also, quite often, treats and snacks what are hard to resist. I run in, get coffee or tea, and run out!

    I like Tony’s second comment. lol

  5. planetross says:

    I’ll go anywhere … I’m in to adventure.
    But as a kid, I’d never go in to the space behind the wood pile in the half finished basement: rats! lots of rats!!!!
    I’m not fond of rats.

  6. Jacobi says:

    Just dropping by.Btw, you website have great content!

  7. S. Le says:

    Time to update. You are turning into a slug. Or was it sloth?

    Been quite busy and haven’t had time to update. Thanks for the comment, its good to know that I am missed when away.
    -pf

Leave a Reply

