Clean up.

I was just looking around my blog and testing some links on my Blogroll and found that some people are not posting anything new, while one other has disappeared yet again. What has Tony got against Word Press? I think he has at least three dead links out there.

Tony the link killer.

I do miss his blog but I am getting tired of his sporadic and random disappearances with out explanation. Oh well to each his own; it’s better to blog and disappear than to never have blogged at all.

The question is, do I delete links to blogs that haven’t updated for a long period of time? Some are entertaining and stand alone on their past merits, others not so much. Maybe I will start another category and have two blogrolls, one for people who update frequently and the other for, bloggers who prefer exacting quality over quantity.

A-Team, B-team?
Varsity, Junior Varsity?
Prolific, Sporadic?

Any suggestions on what to call this category would be appreciated.

-pf

Tagged

9 thoughts on “Clean up.

  1. Archvillain says:

    How about “ACTIVE” and “MORIBUND”?

  2. Layman Pong says:

    Like pruning, cut away the dead.

  3. planetross says:

    I don’t mind “non-prolific” bloggers: it’s kind of nice to click on some people and see nothing new, others not so. Sometimes I’m pressed for time like everyone else. I’ll try to blog more, if you are insinuating that I ‘m slacking. hee hee!

    I don’t like when people delete their entire blog; can’t they just let it sit there until they decide they want to blog or not again. No big deal. It’s not like it’s taking up any room in their closet or anything.

    I like the thought of blogs not being deleted, just hanging out there in cyberspace. Dead links are not really dead; they are more like a hole, the dead leave bodies.

    My son plays all sorts of adventure games on the Wii at home. I always thought cheated when the bodies of the defeated characters disappear from the screen, I think it would be much better to let the old bodies lying around. It would provide perspective if the adventures kept tripping over dead dragons, trolls, and ninja bodies.
    -pf

  4. Oh man, those ninja carcasses can be a real pain. And don’t even get me started on dead dragon stink!

    I’ve done a bit of culling on my blogroll from time to time, but it’s a hard choice to make. I like the A-List and B-list idea but might use something like “Fresh” and “Aging” or… how about “Running” and “Static”

    I’m feeling kinda guilty at the moment because I’ve been averaging about a post a week, where I was doing three per week a while ago. Business, the holidays, me being lazy… It all takes its toll.

    Right… Must post more before I’m relegated to the “Molding” list!

    -Turkish Prawn

  5. Archvillain says:

    Me: “You peer past the open doorway and see a 20′ x 15′ room with a dead berserker in it.”

    All: “Again?!?”

  6. Burrowowl says:

    My personal standard is that I only put up links that I visit with some frequency, and which I do not think a majority of my visitors would already have bookmarked (hence the lack of a link to Penny Arcade). I also try to maintain an odd number of links in each category for aesthetic reasons.

    Your mileage may vary. The Tortoise / Hare / Slug theme you’ve got as I write this is nice, though I think the order they’re presented in could use some fine-tuning (it currently displays hare -> slug -> tortoise, whereas the familiar order is always “tortoise and the hare”). Maybe I’m just picky.

    All that being said, I rarely look at other folks’ external link collections. I’m far more likely to look at a page’s categories or tag cloud, or follow the links generated from the “website” field in the comments form (which I how I found several of the sites on my own blogroll).

    You’re not picky at all. I simply do not know how to change the order. It used to be a simple mater before the people at WordPress changed the editing format. It defaulted to Alphabetical order. Got any ideas how to change it?
    -pf

  7. Layman Pong says:

    Haaaaaw Bill’s a tortuga!

  8. S. Le says:

    Whoa! I’m a hare! Just like Bugs Bunny! Huzzah!

    I like the slug category.

    Tony is sadly in the postmortem category. I also don’t understand the deleting thing. I have other blogs and only post to them occasionally. One of them I put on hold for over a month but just put up a post saying so. At least then people know you may be back and can check in from time to time.

    I will endeavor to live up to the “hare” distinction.

    Cheers!

Leave a Reply

