Wasted?

 

            Until this year I have never had friends actively concerned with how I plan to vote. This of course wouldn’t be an issue if they believed that I was going to vote for one of the two entrenched political parties.  However, when I tell them I am voting for a third party (Libertarian) the response is almost immediate.  “Your wasting you vote!  There are only two parties that have a chance to win, why on earth are you wasting your vote?” 

 

            I understand their motivation behind wishing me to get on the band wagon and vote for their candidate.  I can even understand wanting me to vote against the perceived evil of the apposing party.  Some friends are justifiably concerned with the risk to their right to defend themselves with firearms.  Others are scared to death of loosing a woman’s right to choose to abort an unborn human.  Some of my friends have expressed dismay that anyone with a brain would vote Republican, and others express the same view of the other Party.  It seems that many people are more afraid of the other party wining than hopeful for their party’s success; this is why negative political ads are so effective.  

 

All I can say is vote for principle.  Cast your vote and try not to agonize over the choices of others.

 

“Always vote for principle, though you may vote alone, and you may cherish the sweetest reflection that your vote is never lost.”  ~John Quincy Adams

 

If you are a die hard Democrat that truly believes in what they stand for (what ever that is) by all means vote for the Democratic candidate.  Same with the Republican Party, if they are in line with your political leanings then cast your vote accordingly.  Since I feel that the Republicans have joined with the Democrats and are working towards socializing America, my choice is clear.

I will be voting Libertarian. 

Do I like every single aspect of the Libertarian Party?  No.

Do I support every single viewpoint of the current candidate? No. 

Do you support every single viewpoint of your candidate or party?

If so, you’re either lying or not looking hard enough.

 

“If you have been voting for politicians who promise to give you goodies at someone else’s expense, then you have no right to complain when they take your money and give it to someone else, including themselves”   ~Thomas Sowell

 

Voting for a party that you disagree with in an effort to prevent a party that you feel is even more deplorable from entering office is wrong. 

Voting for the lesser of two evils is still settling for evil. 

 

Every vote for the loosing party is a wasted vote, so is every vote that exceeds the number required to win.  It doesn’t mean that those votes are not counted.

 

 

Please do not tell me I am wasting my vote.  It is as insulting to me as telling a Republican he or she is wasting their vote by voting for a rightwing imperialist Nazi hatemonger, or telling a Democrat that he or she is wasting their vote by voting for a left wing nut job communist radical who is bent on destroying America. 

 

“Bad politicians are sent to Washington by good people who don’t vote.”  ~William E. Simon

 

Not voting, or voting while un-informed, or voting out of fear, is a wasted vote.

 

-PF

Tagged

9 thoughts on “Wasted?

  1. Archvillain says:

    I like the method described by Lazarus Long:

    If you can’t decide who to vote for, find someone you wish to vote against. If this isn’t precise enough for your taste, find some well-meaning fool (there are always plenty of them around) and ask him how he plans to vote. Then vote the other way.

    Broadly paraphrased, but it ought to do.

  2. Tony says:

    Elephant + Deer = Sheep
    Huh????

  3. It’s a Donkey or Ass, not a Deer. It’s the mascot for the Democrat party, as the elephant is for the Republican Party. Sheep as in follow the crowd not think for your self.

    I don’t remember where I got the symbol, probably from the libertarian section of Cafepress.com

    -pf

  4. Burrowowl says:

    I have to disagree with you there.

    Not voting is not a waste. You’re simply delegating your decision. Voting while uninformed is dangerous, counterproductive, and a large part of why we have the bad politicians we have today.

    Additionally, when you cast your vote you are not voting for a party. You are voting for a person. Possibly the biggest problem with our political system is that candidates and incumbents hide behind the consensus of their parties. Don’t vote for Bob Barr because he is a Libertarian. If you will vote for Barr, vote for him because you have weighed your options, judged the candidates, and found him best suited to the job. I have voted for Libertarians before, and will likely do so again in the future. This time around, there are two better candidates than the one with the ‘L’ next to his name.

  5. planetross says:

    The line”voting while uninformed”, sounds like an opinion from an opinionated person. Who’s to say who’s uninformed?
    Vote for whoever you like (as long as you only get one) or don’t vote; I think that’s the way it works in a lot of countries.

  6. planetross says:

    note: I’m not saying you are an opinionated person personally. Your blogs about politics are pretty moderate and fair-handed. It just seems the idea of someone telling someone else they are uninformed seems condescending like Democrats or Republicans telling you not to waste your vote on the Libertarians or other parties.

  7. Planetross-
    Well said. What would be considered informed enough to make an informed vote? I guess I should have more faith in people’s ability to make decisions on important issues utilizing reason rather than reactions to emotional advertisements.

    Burrowowl-
    I agree with you. Sometimes it’s best to not vote at all. Maybe it is I who is voting for the lesser of three evils rather than the best candidate.

    My test on all voting decisions is a simple check to see if what or who I am voting for will increase or decrease personal freedom and individual liberty. Maybe the best choice for President this season is to vote for one that is sure not to win.

    -pf

  8. jimsmuse says:

    I’m a day late and a dollar short….because my first reaction was to quote the exact same Heinlein passage as Archvillain.

    I also liked Heinlein’s idea that one ought to have to make a conscious decision to serve one’s country (though I don’t agree that it necessarily has to be in a military capacity) in order to earn the right to vote. It doesn’t mean you have to be “informed” to vote, but it would certainly mean that you’d actually have to care about what happens.

    I think you’ve made a more reasonable case for your vote than most other bloggers I’ve read on the subject of either McCain or Obama.

    Well played as always, pf!

  9. Burrowowl says:

    FYI, that idea of military service for real citizenship goes way further back than Heinlein. Aristotle wrote a treatise on the subject of how best to govern to take best advantage of the citizens’ aptitudes in order to best secure the safety and happiness of the citizens. He basically broke it down by age groups, proposing that young citizens should serve in the military, then as legislators, then judges, then as priests.

Leave a Reply

