Sith or Jedi?

I did something last night that I occasionally accuse my wife of doing.  I am embarrassed to admit it but I watched a movie on TV when I own the DVD. How lazy is that?  To make matters worse, I found myself complaining about having to watch a stupid political ads, meanwhile, waiting for the movie I was watching to come back on when all I had to do was get off my lazy ass and pop the DVD in the player.  I am ashamed.  Also I am a bit embarrassed to be the owner of the entire Star Wars saga. But then again, I also

 

But that’s not what I wanted to write about. I was watching Star Wars Episode III: Revenge of the Sith.  I know, I know, call it a guilty pleasure.  During commercials I was clicking back to the coverage of the Republican convention.  If you read this blog enough or know me at all you will understand that my brain doesn’t always work properly.  Sometimes, at odd intervals, my brain jumps into overdrive and actually does something that surprises me.  Whether that is a good thing or not is up to interpretation. 

 

This time however my brain was trying to make connection between the movie and the convention coverage.  An odd picture formed in my mind.  Actors on the screen started to be replaced in my mind with politicians. The roles would change periodically depending on the dialog,  Sometimes Governor Palin is Padame sometimes Princess Leia, President Bush as Darth Sidious, or General Grievous, and so on.  Sometimes Joe Biden is C3-PO other times he is Jar-Jar Binks.   This visualization while not new or original is amusing.  It also doesn’t provide anything in the way of real insight to our political process.  I think things are way too complicated to make sweeping generalizations.  But they are fun to play with.

 

I can’t wait for the debates.  If we are lucky a debate between McCain and Obama will sound like this:

 

Obi-Wan Kenobi: You have allowed this dark lord to twist your mind, until now, until now you’ve become the very thing you swore to destroy.

Anakin Skywalker: Don’t lecture me, Obi-Wan. I see through the lies of the Jedi. I do not fear the dark side as you do. I have brought peace, freedom, justice, and security to my new Empire.

Obi-Wan Kenobi: Your new Empire?

Anakin Skywalker: Don’t make me kill you.

Obi-Wan Kenobi: Anakin, my allegiance is to the Republic, to democracy.

Anakin Skywalker: If you’re not with me, then you’re my enemy.

Obi-Wan Kenobi: Only a Sith deals in absolutes.

[draws his lightsaber]

Obi-Wan Kenobi: I will do what I must.

Anakin Skywalker: You will try.

 

 

Obi-Wan: I have failed you, Anakin. I have failed you.

Anakin Skywalker: I should have known the Jedi were plotting to take over.

Obi-Wan: Anakin, Chancellor Palpatine is evil.

Anakin Skywalker: From my point of view, the Jedi are evil.

Obi-Wan: Well, then you are lost.

 

Obi-Wan: It’s over Anakin, I have the high ground.

Anakin Skywalker: You underestimate my power!

Obi-Wan: Don’t try it.

 

 

I will leave it up to the reader to decide who plays who.

It’s your mind, use it as you see fit.

Opinions vary depending upon a persons point of view.

 

-pf

3 thoughts on “Sith or Jedi?

  1. Burrowowl says:

    Only a Sith deals in absolutes.
    Ah, irony.

  2. jimsmuse says:

    As usual, you crack me up and then when I start wiping the tears out of my eyes from laughing…I notice that you’ve also got me thinking.

    I did want to comment seriously about this entry, though. I am often guilty of watching a movie on TV that I own on DVD and then being admonished by the spouse for whining about commercials. You are not alone.

    9 times out of 10, though, the movie is “Smokey and the Bandit”. I will most likely rise out of my coffin to watch a few minutes of it if the funeral director happens to have the USA Network on during my viewing….

  3. Tony says:

    You have cracked me up too
    But I agree with the reasoning of why walk to the DVD, pick it up, take i outta the case, put it in the DVD player, walk back to lounge, pick up a different remote, when it was already on TV.
    Energy conservation is a big deal these days :}

Leave a Reply

