Speeching?

If thats not a word it should be.

Believe it or not I plan on listening to Obama’s speech tonight.   Well, not listening, but I will read it. Maybe tomorrow, its getting late and I have to be up at 5:00am.  I don’t want the passion of his voice nor the uproarious adulation from the thousands of fans in Denver change the meaning of his words.  If they are indeed his words, however, will give him the benefit of the doubt, he is an educated man and is fully capable of writing his own speeches.

I am enjoying his message of change.  He doesn’t really define what the change will be, but we are  supposed to assume that the change will be somehow the other way around from the government actions or inactions from the last four years.  This is not really defined yet how this will happen, or what the plan is, but I am sure change will take place.  Hopefully Senator Obama will clear that one up a bit.  I want to hear his plan, maybe he found another way to make something out of nothing.  Or maybe he has some plan to make everyone want less for more money.  You never know.

I also hope that Senator McCain will do his part and not steel the limelight from Senator Obama tonight.  This is an historic evening and Obama should have his time.  Congrats, its been far too long.

I hope when McCain does announce his running mate it will be a surprise.  Mike or Mitt will be a disappointment to me.  Not because I don’t like them, but because McCain has an opportunity to really shake things up.  I hope he chooses Carly Firoina as VP.  I know Carly a bit, I used to work for her at HP, before her policies caused me to become un-employed.  The HP workers hated her, but my stock did go up and I am happier not working for HP.  I think this would be a good thing for our government to experience.

There is another reason I want Carly for VP.
Remember the Star Trek episode where Kirk, Scotty, McCoy and Uhurla were beamed to an alternative universe where everybody was the opposite of their normal selves?    Carly is the Hillery in Bizarro world.  The Republican counterpart, a twisted double that seem the same but completely different.  Or maybe just different enough to be disturbing…

Oh well, I will read his speech sometime tomorrow morning.  Hopefully before I hear any of the conservatives spit on it and before NPR drools over it.

I don’t like reading wet material.

-pf

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Speeching?

  1. Burrowowl says:

    He doesn’t really define what the change will be[…]

    Yes he does. He has a fairly detailed list of policies he is proposing to implement, and has been asking the public to get behind him on so they can actually get done. More infoes here: http://www.barackobama.com/pdf/ObamaBlueprintForChange.pdf

    I certainly don’t agree with him on every point, but he hasn’t been just droning “change hope change change hope yes we can” for the past 20 months.

  2. You are of course right. I stand corrected. I have read his plan and it is a list of what he will do when and if he becomes president. It’s a plan that defines his intent to do something, and it even goes so far as to define a direction on how to achieve these goals. The missing word in most of his proposals is how. He can fight for the noble goal of turning bullshit into carbon free gasoline, or run factories off of puffed wind, but saying so won’t make it happen. Even when you write it down and post your plan on the internet won’t make dreams come true. Passing resolutions against vertical airborne moisture and creating a blue star commission won’t stop the rain. He has a plan, it’s a pie in the sky plan full of free this and tax credits for that. And you are right not to agree with some of them. Most are none of the governments business in the first place, or problems that don’t need solving on a national level. But you are right. He has a plan, and it probably looks a lot like Senator McCain’s plan, if he has one.

    Sorry for the rant, I am becoming quite syndical in my old age in regards to politics. I have watched one ratbag politician after another for the last twenty years and not one has any real ideas but to do anything to increase their party’s entrenchment and blame the other on any failure. Meanwhile the public bounces back and fourth between the two thinking that the other will be better than the last. It’s like a custody battle where the electorate bounces back and forth between abusive parents. They both spoil us rotten in competition for our approval. Meanwhile they both go broke and spend our college funds; soon we will have to move out and get a job. The only problem is that the only jobs left are working for the government

    That’s why I am a Libertarian. The antics of both major parties I find amusing and both are wrong.

Leave a Reply

