Turkish Prawn Interview

 

It’s been a while since my last interview.  Today I have the fortune to interview Turkish Prawn owner and operator of Fox and Maus.  He comments on my blog frequently, so in the sprite of ‘no good deed goes unpunished’, I decided to interview him.

PF-  Welcome to flounder-land.  Sit down, be comfortable, no pressure here.  You are one of the last on my blog roll who hasn’t suffered through the humiliating experience of being interviewed by a high desert fluke.  Please feel free to dodge any question or simply turn things around and skewer me with your unusually sharp wit.  At the end are the ten famous questions that started this whole thing.  Feel free to elaborate in any way you wish.  Feel free to dick with the formatting anyway you wish. I will reformate it anyway, so knock your self out.

Anyway here we go:

TP-Woo-Hoo! Last time I was interviewed, I didn’t get the job. At least this time I can do the interview in my PJ’s with out worry about the interviewer getting all, “Where’s your suit?” and “Are those pajamas?!?”

PF- One of the first things I always want to know about bloggers is what ever possessed you to start one?  Also you seem to be fairly prolific, how do you find motivation to consistently update and post new material?

TP- I started because I really wanted to do more writing. I’d been trying to write more but it happens pretty sporadically. I found that when I actually had the time to get some thoughts down, the machinery of creative my mind was too rusty. The theory is that if I keep at the blog, then when I can actually work at developing an idea into a story, I’ll be on top of my game. That’s the theory, anyway. As for being prolific, it’s mostly due to the pressure of not wanting to disappoint anyone foolish enough who visits Fox & Maus on a consistent basis. That and I’ve become a whore to my blog stats. “Where the hell did all the people go?! I’d better write something new and funnier!” On a side note, I have decided to do my darndest not to whine or complain on the blog. There are enough negative folks bitching away out there to fulfill that need. I wanted mine to be positive. Perhaps not always funny, but positive.

PF- I really like the header you chose for your blog.  Did you take the photo?  Where, and what’s the story behind why you chose that photograph?

TP- Yup. That’s mine. Come to think of it, I ought to post the whole picture. The view is from just below the summit of Mt. Monadnock (Mo-nad-knock) in south-eastern New Hampshire. It’s an Indian word that means “Mountain that stands alone”. It dominates the landscape there and I grew up looking at it every day. I have no idea how many dozen times I’ve climbed it. The day I took the photo, it was wild weather. It kept raining on and off and  the wind was whipping. The clouds were amazing. I was soaked by the time I got back down, but had a blast. Incidentally, this particular climb was on Father’s day and my Dad was with me. Now that you have me thinking about it… This would make a great entry! Hey! Thanks PF!

PF- Action Girl, Lulu Belle, and Short Stack, what inspired you to pick those names?  I think they are just great; they give a visual image with out using real names. (I hope)

 

TP- Dear God! You’d hope they were Pseudonyms! Action Girl needs little explanation. If my lovely wife is not moving it’s because she’s either sleeping or has been knocked unconscious. I don’t know that she can actually “relax” in the usual way most folks do. To her, relaxing is going on a 5 mile walk or driving a piece of heavy machinery. Lulu Belle is my three month old daughter. When Action Girl was pregnant and we still didn’t have a name picked out, she decided that we need to call her SOMETHING! She came up with Lulu Belle as a joke, but it stuck. Now that she’s here, she has a more… common name (though not too common!). We still call her Lulu Belle sometimes though. My two year old son, Short Stack got his name because I didn’t think he was up to “Tall Stack”, as in ‘pancakes’. He’s getting bigger now though. Perhaps I’ll have to start calling him that soon. And yes, I do call him Short Stack in real life and he does answer to it.

PF- Down to the famous ten questions:

1.         What is your favorite word?

I was going to go with antidisestablishmentarianism, for obvious show-off-y reasons, but I think, more genuinely, I’ll pick ‘schadenfreude’. It’s a German word that means “To get joy out of another’s misfortune.” I prefer to think of it as watching someone who deserves it, get their comeuppance. I love watching karma come back and take a chunk out of someone’s butt.

2. What is your least favorite word?

That’s easy. ‘Politician’. Ick. Just thinking about it makes me feel like I need to wash my hands.

3.         What turns you on [creatively, spiritually or emotionally]?

           Creatively: Flexing my creativity. Hence starting the blog.  Spiritually: Nature in its unadulterated state and, I suppose, loss. Emotionally: Freshly made doughnuts. Oh, and my family. Yes. Family…    Mmmm. Doughnuts…

4.         What turns you off?

            Off? Hmm… Boredom, I guess. If you mean ‘What do I dislike intensely?’, then I’d have to say “Jerks”. I can take most forms of personal attacks, smile and walk away, but when I see someone bullying another person, that gets me cranked. It takes most of my self control to keep from doing something that I might later regret. Besides, I’m more of a ‘I’ll get you eventually’, person. It’s far more satisfying if they get blind sided later on. I try to curb that instinct, with varying amounts of success.

5.         What sound or noise do you love?

           My son’s voice. He’s two years old and he has that great, squeaky kid voice. It never ceases to make me happy. I can’t wait until Lulu Belle can talk too!

6.         What sound or noise do you hate?

            Idiots talking loudly out on the street at 3 in the morning. That, and “Honey, I think one of the cats just threw up”.

7.         What is your favorite curse word?

            Well, since my kids have come along, I’ve worked very hard at curbing my language. To be honest, I’ve never been a big swearer. I think that makes it all the more powerful when I venture into the vault for the right epithet. If you mean ‘favorite’ as in ‘entertaining’, I guess it would be “asshat”. I find it funny and only somewhat offensive. If you mean it as ‘most used by me’, then I’d have to say it’s “sonofabitch”, followed closely by “Aw, crap!”  

8.         What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? 

 In all honesty, I’d really like to be a writer, I guess. The problem is that I just don’t do the ‘normal’ job thing very well. I get bored working for other people and I’m getting tired of running my own shop. I also want to spend more (WAY more) time with my kiddos. I’m a little hesitant to say “I want to be a writer”, out loud because to me, it brings up images of fourteen year old girls writing in their journals. Not fair, I’ll grant you, but it just sounds so… wide eyed and idealistic. I still would like to try, though.

9.         What profession would you not like to do?

 Anything that limits my ability to leave the building when ever I damn well please. Like everyone else, I spent my youth inside big institutional buildings, being taught things that I didn’t particularly care to learn. The learning part, I could cope with. Later on, I had jobs in big building doing thing that I didn’t want to do or had no real interest in. I don’t do those things any more, if I can help it. The limits placed on my personal freedom to move as I wished, almost killed me. I hate that feeling.

10.       If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? 

 Well, I guess I’d like to hear him say something along the lines of, “Good job! You played that very well. I’m proud of you!” Who wouldn’t want to hear God say that to you?

And lastly to be completely fair, do you have any questions for me?

TP- A passenger train leaves the train depot 2 hours after a freight train leaves the same depot. The freight train is traveling 20 mph slower than the passenger train. What is the rate of each train, if the passenger train overtakes the freight train in three hours?

 

-PF I really hate word problems.  The only thing I hate worse is the fact that I find my self obsessing over it.  I believe the answer is that the passenger train is traveling at 50mph and the freight Trane is traveling at 30mph.  Please correct me if I am wrong.

 

PF- Thanks for allowing me this interview. 

 

TP- Thanks! I’ve had a blast! Come back again real soon, ladies and gentlemen! I’ll be here all week…

 

PF- Try the veal.

 

 

 

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Turkish Prawn Interview

  1. […] you are. Have fun with it. It’s actually trickier than I thought it would be, though easier than word problems involving trains and relative speed. Just ask Prairie […]

  2. So cool…. TP is one of my favorite peopel in the blog world. ice to hear a little bit more about him other than the details I’ve been lucky enough to hear.

    Great blog…I’ll be digging through it this weekend.

Leave a Reply

