1 sided Die

             It may not come as a surprise to my readers that I played Dungeons and Dragons when I was a teenager.  It may not even be a surprise that I played as an adult.   Even now I have the same player’s handbook that I used in 1979 while playing the role of a Dwarf Thief.  Luckily it did not take long for my rather un-impressive dwarf to take a flying leap into a hole which turned out to be a sphere of annihilation.  I did manage to talk a friend into jumping in as well, so it wasn’t a total loss.  Good luck Stump…

            Then I rolled up the character that lasted me until this day.  I have been playing the role of a Half Elf Magic-user named Rasputin Eldercraft, off and on, for the last 25 years.  The last time I played was in Las Vegas a few years back. I didn’t make a good showing of it, nope not at all.  I am surprised that my character wasn’t used as an Orc sex toy.  Who knows maybe he was, I wouldn’t have noticed.  Anyway, my apologies to all who made the trip, I wanted my last time playing Rasputin to be memorable.  And frankly I am trying real hard to forget Las Vegas.

             DandD

            Ernest Gary Gygax  co-founder of Dungeons and Dragons died today. 

Born July 27, 1938

Chicago, Illinois, United States

Died March 4, 2008 (aged 69)

            D&D was solely responsible for any social life I had in High School.  I also believe that Gary Gygax’s game enabled me to explore an imagination that I hardly even knew I had.  Way to go Gary, you inspired a generation of geeks.  Sorry about the saving throw, but in the real world there are no second chances, and a good DM obeys the dice.

            During the game the one person who has complete power over the player characters is the Dungeon Master.   The players only imagine that they have power, they only have choice, and real power is, in the end, up to the DM.  Since D&D characters are imaginary, I believe that they can live or die at the whim of the player only when the game is complete. 

            For me the game is complete.  Rasputin is dead.  I will send his last will and testament along with his wand to the DM for disposition.  I am sure there is a small game that can be played revolving his funeral and disposition of his wealth.  Bill, I will leave it up to you on how to handle the power struggle.

I am sure that Gary didn’t choose to die. I am, however, grateful that he enabled us to be able to choose our fate in the game that he invented. 

Thanks Gary.

5 thoughts on “1 sided Die

  1. Archvillain says:

    “Absolute power over the player characters” my pasty, white, asymmetrically lumpy ass!

    If I’d had this “absolute power” of which you speak, you would never have been permitted to body-surf a “Sphere of Annihilation” in “The Tomb of Horrors”.

    Besides, it’s a lot better when the DM and players are co-authors of a shared universe.

    As far as Vegas went, I’m counting that as one of my worst failures as DM. Not because of you, but because I forgot that fact. I got so intoxicated with my “brilliant creation” that I forgot the idea was for the players to enjoy it, too. Nobody enjoyed that game in Vegas, and it was entirely my fault.

    I still appreciate the fact that you showed up and tried to participate, despite the pain you were in.

    -A Dark and Sinister Force for Good.

  2. Layman Pong says:

    Say what?
    I enjoyed the hell out of Vegas.

    What operation ever comes off without a bit of roughness?

    Coming home, I realized how much I miss the proximity we had back in that day.

  3. spudgun says:

    A great tribute PF.

    Rest in peace Gary, thanks for all the drinks.

    http://burrowowl.net/shimmie/view.php?image_id=11709

  4. Burrowowl says:

    As somebody else posted elsewhere regarding Mr. Gygax: “All D&D nerds shall observe 1d4+1 moments of silence in honor of Gary Gygax today.”

  5. Burrowowl says:

    Just tripped over this on 4chan. Horribly sappy, but that’s how people get when an icon dies.

    The Empty Chair
    Eulogy for a Gamer

    There is an empty chair,
    at the table this day.
    A hallowed place where,
    a friend once played.
    The roll of his dice,
    my ears long to hear.
    Or perhaps it would suffice,
    if he should suddenly appear.
    With character sheet in hand,
    and a bag of Cheeze-doodles to share.
    All his friends would stand,
    as he sat in the empty chair.
    I hear his voice a-callin’,
    and it ties my heart in a knot.
    For he cries, “Though a comrade has fallen,
    You must play for those who cannot.”
    We conquered worlds on the run,
    he and I in the name of fun.
    And as others may come and go,
    I make both both friend and foe.
    But what I long for most,
    is our past now long a ghost.

Leave a Reply

