Evening With Bill

                   We went to see Bill Engvall last night in Greeley.  He was much better than I thought he would be.  I was glad that he used material that I haven’t heard before, but I don’t think it would have mattered.  He is one funny guy, regardless of material. It does make me wonder, does he change his material for different shows depending upon the potential audience? If so then Greeley was home to the ass joke.  Most of his jokes were centered on two main themes, becoming fifty, and buts.  I am all for ass humor but (Pardon the pun) the turning fifty jokes were hitting a little close to home.  My wife and sons were almost in tears as he described, in detail, his colorectal exam.  I am due for mine in the next few years and I didn’t think his routine was nearly as funny.  But soon the table was turned as Bill went on to describe women really run any functioning marriage.  Oops, maybe the table turned all the way around.  Women do run any functioning marriage.  I know. 

            I am also gratified that there are still places to go and be entertained, for a reasonable price, that doesn’t involve hundreds of millions of dollars in special effects.  Don’t get me wrong, I love science fiction movies, zombie movies, and over the top adventures, but its nice every once in a while to sit back and have fun with a great entertainer.  No props, no effects, just people. 

            I highly recommend seeing at least one comic a year to help blow out movie induced constipation.  Bill Engvall is just the man to supply the needed diuretic. 

PS.

I am glad that he didn’t tell the Dork Fish joke.  

flounder-style.jpg

I would have really lost it and made a fool of myself.

 -PF

One thought on “Evening With Bill

  1. Dad says:

    Dork Fish joke?

Leave a Reply

