Fighting Aardvarks?

You may or may not know it, but I work for a community college in Northern Colorado. When I was first hired, I was surprised that a small community college with out a sports program would have a mascot. I am embarrassed to admit it but we do, it’s an Aardvark.

Arty

At first I thought that this was some kind of joke. Where I grew up schools had fearsome mascots like the Bull Dog, Lions, Tigers, Bears, (oh my) and other dangerous animals. It appears that my childhood impressions were wrong. (Suprise)

How many other colleges have bizarre mascots?

Thank goodness for the internet. After a quick search and some editing I created a nice list of stupid college mascots. I know there are lots of others. I edited out the really strange ones that don’t have any obvious meaning or are after objects rather than animals. What I was looking for were odd animals that the school thought would be a good representation for their sports teems.

After creating this list I feel much better. I bet our Aardvark could kick most of these mascots’ asses.

  • California- Irvine Anteaters
  • California- Santa Cruz Banana Slugs
  • Delaware Fighting Blue Hens
  • Eastern Arizona Gila Monsters
  • Evergreen State Geoducks “Gooey ducks”
  • Muskingham Fighting Muskies
  • Oregon Tech Hustlin’ Owls
  • South Carolina Gamecocks
  • Southern Arkansas- Monticello Bollweevils
  • Texas Christian Horned Frogs
  • Wisconsin- Sheboygan Wombats

By the way, how do you get a horned frog to convert? Baptism?

-pf

flounder-style.jpg

5 thoughts on “Fighting Aardvarks?

  1. Archvillain says:

    Last time I looked, Okra was a plant. Hokies and Hawkeyes are people, and Aaardvarks are Anteaters. I’m not sure Sasquatch counts, either, since it doesn’t really exist. If you’re going to include imaginary critters, you might as well toss in Thunderbirds, Angels, Devils, etc.

    As for converting Horned Frogs, forget it. They have horns, so they’re automatically demonic by nature, and therefore incapable of redemption.

    I knew there was a reason I liked those critters.

    Archvillain
    S.O.E & A.A.B.G.

  2. Well thank you Mr. Fancy pants! I am so glad your here to bring mistakes in accuracy to my attention. Errors like this could destroy the credibility of this blog.
    -pf

  3. Archvillain says:

    What are friends for, if not to publicly point out one’s shortcomings and publicly laud one’s achievements?

    Love the Army of darkness quote, BTW.

    Archvillain
    SOE & AABG

  4. fact funny says:

    Had some thoughts about this a couple of weeks ago, but..as always i tend to forget things like this.

  5. caveblogem says:

    My own alma mater, California State University Sacramento, recently revealed that they almost decided to be represented by the Elk, rather than the Hornet (this would have been in the early 1950s, I guess). Ever see an elk in the Sacramento Valley, pf? Yeah, me neither. Would you have been scared of it?

    Oh, and I don’t mean scared like “Oh, no. I’m going to hit that big, heavy, stupid slab of yummy meat with the HPM and Die!” I mean scared to, I dunno, play football with it or something.

Leave a Reply

