Ready to Party?

warning

Sometimes the path to political enlightenment is on a crooked road, and sometimes it’s a series of links on the internet. My path came to me the other day while I was visiting the Balls 16 webpage.  In a month or so my lovely wife and I will be traveling to the Black Rock desert to launch rockets. This is not just any rocket event but the big daddy of them all. I could, and will, write a whole series of articles about why Balls is so cool and fun, but not today.

 

Today I want to relate how I found the political party that has everything I am looking for without all the seriousness that is demanded by so called mainstream politics.

 

But first some history as to how I came to this point of political befuddlement. Sherman: set the way back machine to…. well, a long time ago.

 

Sherman

When I was a kid I didn’t think much about what our government was up to or how it may affect my life. The government seemed to be made up of a bunch of old white guys that talked a lot. From my personal experience that usually meant noting important was being said and nothing useful was being done. When I was a teenager I thought that MTV was cool, rebellion and hippies were the way to go. In my 20s, I remember thinking that it was real important that Regan got elected. I am not sure why, maybe because he made movies with monkeys, or maybe because he wasn’t a lawyer. In my 30s I started reading stuff by P.J. O’Rourke and Ayn Rand and thought that government was way too serious of a business to be tursted to a popularity contest.  But who should decide? In my 40s it became obvious to me that people in general subscribe to a mixed bag of ideologies. They could be Republicrats, or Democans, or what ever ‘-ists’ they wish, but seem vote for the party that most favorably funds their pet projects.  This struck me as another road to hell, so I figured I would try out Libertarianism. They seem to want to try to get people to solve their own problems and take responsibility for their own mistakes. Now I am thinking that Libertarians are not the ticket for me, they seem to lack a sence of the absurd that is soo needed in todays politics.

So, Sherman let’s pull the way-back machine to the present. What is this new found political epiphany? This new political party that achieves all of my expectations?

  

 Road to salvation:

 

 

Well I started out at the Balls 16 website. Found that in addition to launching truly frightening rockets, the lake bed is famous for hosting Burning Man a few weeks before Balls. I went to the Burning Ban site and on the theme camps page, right between the Groove Labs and the Gypsy Monkeys I found it. 

 

 

 Yep, the Guns and Dope Party.

 

 

 No I am not kidding.

 

They advocate:
[1] guns for those who want them, no guns forced on those who don’t want them (pacfists, Quakers etc.)
[2] drugs for those who want them, no drugs forced on those who don’t want them (Christian Scientists etc.)
[3] an end to Tsarism and a return to constitutional democracy
[4] equal rights for ostriches.

Official motto: “Like what you like, enjoy what you enjoy,
don’t be afraid to make slurping sounds,
and don’t take crap from anybody”

What more can you ask for? 

I am not going to change my voter registration, will remain a Libertarian, but I will vote along my new party line. The Guns and Drugs Party supports my beliefs more that any other party, so far. At least it will keep me from backsliding and becoming a Republican again. Good enough for now.

A free people ought not only to be armed and disciplined,
but they should have sufficient arms and ammunition to maintain a
status of independence from any who might attempt to abuse them,
which would include their own government.
–George Washington

“I hate to advocate drugs, alcohol, violence or insanity to anyone, but they’ve always worked for me.”
Hunter S. Thompson

Anyway, no drug, not even alcohol, causes the fundamental ills of society. If we’re looking for the source of our troubles, we shouldn’t test people for drugs, we should test them for stupidity, ignorance, greed and love of power.
P. J. O’Rourke

We test people all the time for stupidity, ignorance, greed, and love of power. These tests are usually held in the fall, the people who fail end up in office, serving the public.

-PF

One thought on “Ready to Party?

  1. caveblogem says:

    I Massachusetts we have only three ways to register: Dems, Republicans, and Unenrolled. Most of us are unenrolled, which I kinda like. Most of my instincts are Libertarian, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen one on a ballot here.

    This is, in part, a test. WordPress says they fixed the problem I was having with spam. So I’m trying your blog first, PF. If you see this, find some small way to celebrate my return to the blogosphere.

Leave a Reply

