TV gulit

            Last night I occupied my time with a guilty pleasure, I watched TV.  But first, Patty and I took a five mile ride on a nice comfortable bike trail.  The hills are not too steep, and the trail was glass smooth.  The scenery is nice, and people we encountered were cheerful and friendly.  Then I came home and turned on the idiot box, planted butt in chair and stared at the boobtube.  I could have accomplished something.  I could have worked on a rocket, or read a book, or learned something new.  But no, I sat on my ass and watched a special edition of “Deadliest Catch” and “Man vs. Nature” on the Discovery Channel

            First of all I have to say that I have done some crazy shit in my day. I have had risky jobs in the military, and in civilian life.  I have risked my life doing stupid shit just for fun; it was a long time ago…. But the people that fish on the bearing sea are by far the toughest bastards I have ever seen.  Then last night I saw even crazier people, the camera men that film these crazy bastards.  The show was about the making of “The Deadliest Catch”, and I was really taken with the amount of effort these cameramen and producers go through.  Then “Man vs. Nature” was on next.  While watching I couldn’t help but think what about the guy filming the host?  How is he surviving?  I watched how the host climbed over a fallen tree to get over the alligator infested swamp, but how did the cameraman get across?

            Anyway after watching the programs I couldn’t help feeling inadequate.  Here are people living every moment, they are risking their asses, for excitement, adventure, and for their dinner.  And I am sitting in my basement drinking an ice cold rum and coke, and bitching about stupid commercials.  Maybe the point of shows like these is to inspire people to get up off the couch and get busy doing something with their spare time. I hope so, because it seems to me that being a spectator all the time could be harmful.  Just look at all the fat, bald, middle age, ex-jocks that watch sports and drink beer every weekend.  I don’t want to turn into one.  I don’t think that will ever happen to me because I am not interested in watching sports.  However, I do find myself watching shows on the discovery channel like “Deadliest Catch”, “Man vs. Nature”, “Myth Busters”, and others.  They all have the same theme, “watch us do cool stuff form your nice comfortable chair”

            I don’t know, maybe fireworks, high power rocketry, and bike riding is enough.  There seems to be so many other cool things to do when you’re not at work.

Maybe I need to start on the trebuchet, and get some mountain bike tires. 

Or maybe, just maybe, I just need to turn off the TV.

           

-PF

One thought on “TV gulit

  1. Layman Pong says:

    Sometimes the decision that there’s not “enough” in one’s life leads to needless complication or disaster.
    Heh: “needless disaster.”
    As opposed to Required Disaster.

    Ah…controlled disaster: fireworks.

Leave a Reply

