Cranky

The internet is a great tool it also has its seedy side. 

I know what you’re thinking but its true, the World Wide Web is a hotbed of deceit and lies. 

I am talking about Souvenirs.

 

Yes if you are deceitful you can order a souvenir from anywhere you like with out even going there.  The only thing that could possibly be a more despicable would be buying a concert tour  T-shirt with out actually going to the concert!

 

All this can and does happen but not a pressed penny! 

pap.JPG

You have to have been there to get one! 

 

What a great device, you put in a penny and two quarters and you get the penny back but it’s crushed and imprinted with a logo. You don’t have to interact with anyone, no lines, just walk up put in your coins and turn the crank.   The machines come labeled with a disclaimer that it is all legal under Title 18, Section 331 of the U.S. Code, which permits the mutilation of U.S. coins as long as it is done without fraudulent intent.

Wouldn’t that be a great job title, (Coin mutilation intent interpretation specialest)

I just love these things.  

The first squished coin:

First

I have pressed pennies from just about every place I have been in
America.  I wish I knew about these things in
Europe when I was there, they have some of the best images pressed on a Euro:

herberstein.gif

Some of the American attractions are also fun and uniquely American:

Bite

The Pressed pennies are portable and lend themselves to collecting and creative uses.  I am not sure what to do with all the ones I have, but I am thinking about it.  Name another souvenir that makes you think of ways to display it?  It has spoons, thimbles, and shot glasses beat.  You can sew them into hats, or mount them on picture frames, or glue them to the sidewalk, make a bracelet, earrings, or cufflinks.  There is just about no end to what you can do. 

No I don’t collect these things.  If I did I would be tempted to buy some with out actually turning a crank, that would be… well… wrong.  I do press a penny where ever I find a machine.  Hopefully the penny will continue to find a useful function in these machines in the future.   Otherwise the penny is just a plain waste of metal. 

Next is the nickel press.

 

For more information on the subject check this out.

-PF

2 thoughts on “Cranky

  1. caveblogem says:

    Make sure when you press your pennies that they have a date before 1982, or you risk exposing the zinc underneath the thin copper coating. I had this happen to one of mine when I pressed it and it looks a little weird.

  2. spudgun says:

    Another interesting Penney fact: It costs the US Government 1.5 cents to make a penny…hmm.

Leave a Reply

